LibGuides: Political Science: Security Studies

Browzine Security Studies Journals

Databases

National Security Archive
"Founded in 1985 by journalists and scholars to check rising government secrecy, the National Security Archive combines a unique range of functions: investigative journalism center, research institute on international affairs, library and archive of declassified U.S. documents ("the world's largest nongovernmental collection" according to the Los Angeles Times), leading non-profit user of the U.S. Freedom of Information Act, public interest law firm defending and expanding public access to government information, global advocate of open government, and indexer and publisher of former secrets."

Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. It provides easy access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources, such as dissertations, reports and position papers from universities, research institutions, think tanks and U.S. local and state agencies as well as international governments.
The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
HSDL features SeekOnce, a meta-search engine, which enables cross searching of more than 50 journal article databases and a wide range of web-based resources from NASA to the RAND Corporation. 2002 to current. However, HSDL is also collecting historical material relevant to homeland security from before 2002. Examples of historical documents in the collection include major legislation, executive orders, and presidential directives. It is updated every working day.
Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

Security Studies

American Diplomacy
American Diplomacy is an online, open-access quarterly journal. Its goal is to inform readers about international issues and diplomacy, to promote greater understanding of the Foreign Service and the role of diplomats, and to encourage readers to consider a Foreign Service career.
Frontline Diplomacy: The Foreign Affairs Oral History Collection of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training
"... interview transcripts from the oral history archives of the Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training (ADST). These transcripts present a window into the lives of U.S. diplomats and the major diplomatic crisis and issues that the United States faced during the second half of the 20th century and the early part of the 21st."
Department of State
The mission of the Dept. of State is to "advance freedom for the benefit of the American people and the international community by helping to build and sustain a more democratic, secure, and prosperous world composed of well-governed states that respond to the needs of their people, reduce widespread poverty, and act responsibly within the international system." This site provides extensive country and regional information.

JSTOR Security Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
JSTOR Security Studies Collection includes 66 high-quality academic journals and 13,000+ policy reports in the areas of security studies, political science, international relations, foreign policy, cybersecurity, terrorism, drug trafficking, etc. (Journal issues for the most current years may not be available.)
Military and Government Collection This link opens in a new window
Military and Government Collection offers over 300 full-text journals, indexing and citations for another 400 journals, and over 1,200 speechers, legal documents, eBooks and other pertinent content.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and popular magazine with full-text and indexes, covering a wide range of topics. A good database for beginning searches.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Criminal Justice (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.
Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation's premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. It provides easy access to U.S. policy documents, presidential directives, and national strategy documents as well as specialized resources, such as dissertations, reports and position papers from universities, research institutions, think tanks and U.S. local and state agencies as well as international governments.
The HSDL is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security's National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA and the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.
HSDL features SeekOnce, a meta-search engine, which enables cross searching of more than 50 journal article databases and a wide range of web-based resources from NASA to the RAND Corporation. 2002 to current. However, HSDL is also collecting historical material relevant to homeland security from before 2002. Examples of historical documents in the collection include major legislation, executive orders, and presidential directives. It is updated every working day.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni includes more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexis Uni includes full text from hundreds of business & legal journals, newspapers, and news wire services. You'll also find business and company reports, SEC filings, legal case law, state and US legal code. It includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Australian Strategic Policy Institute
"...independent, non-partisan think tank that produces expert and timely advice for Australia’s strategic and defense leaders."
Carnegie Endowment for International Peace
"...to advance peace through analysis and development of fresh policy ideas and direct engagement and collaboration with decision makers in government, business, and civil society."
Center for a New American Security
"...an independent, bipartisan, nonprofit organization that develops strong, pragmatic, and principled national security and defense policies."
Center for Security Policy
"...founded in July 1988 by 30 national security policy practitioners united by an overarching goal – to perpetuate the time-tested policy Ronald Reagan used to such transformative effect during his presidency: “Peace through Strength.” Led by Frank Gaffney.
Combatting Terrorism Center: West Point
"...educates, advises, and conducts research to equip present and future leaders with the intellectual tools necessary to understand the challenges of terrorism and counterterrorism."
Council on Foreign Relations
"... an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries."
Hague Center for Strategic Studies
"...an independent think tank...[mission] Transforming global challenges of today into solutions for tomorrow."
International Institute for Counter-Terrorism
Based in Israel, "... independent think tank providing expertise in terrorism, counter-terrorism, homeland security, threat vulnerability, risk assessment, intelligence analysis, national security and defense policy."
RAND Corporation
"...a nonprofit institution that helps improve policy and decision making through research and analysis."
World Bank
"The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world."

Correlates of War Datasets
Correlates of War (COW) project seeks to facilitate the collection, dissemination, and use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations.
Polity5 Project
"The Polity5 Project continues the Polity research tradition of coding authority characteristics of states in the world system for purposes of comparative, quantitative analysis. An improved and enhanced Polity5 version in the series is currently in development."
Varieties of Democracy (V-Dem)
"...a multidimensional and disaggregated dataset that reflects the complexity of the concept of democracy as a system of rule that goes beyond the simple presence of elections."
War Terrain and Geospatial Representation Data
Article introducing the War Terrain Indices and Geospatial Representation Dataset (WARTIGER).
WomanStats Project
The WomanStats Project is constructing what is already the most comprehensive database...with the aim of investigating the link between the security and behavior of states and the situation and security of the women within them.
Uppsala Conflict Data Program
The Uppsala Conflict Data Program (UCDP) is the world’s main provider of data on organized violence and the oldest ongoing data collection project for civil war, with a history of almost 40 years. Its definition of armed conflict has become the global standard of how conflicts are systematically defined and studied. UCDP produces high-quality data, which are systematically collected, have global coverage, are comparable across cases and countries, and have long time series which are updated annually.
Peace Research Institute of Oslo / Data
The Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO) conducts research on the conditions for peaceful relations between states, groups and people.

Foreign Policy
Articles dealing with the United States' attitude toward world affairs and current events.
Foreign Affairs
Reviews current events as they affect US relations worldwide, focusing on international, political, commercial and cultural relations.
The Atlantic Magazine
The Atlantic Website
New York Times
Washington Post
BBC