Political Science: Websites

Search and find members of the US Congress.

Congressional Directory optimized for Mobile Devices.

"Founded over a century ago, CRS provides authoritative and confidential research and analysis for Congress’ deliberative use." "Created by experts in CRS, the reports present a legislative perspective on topics such as agriculture policy, counterterrorism operations, banking regulation, veteran’s issues and much more." (Hayden, 2018)

On-line version of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program, with emphasis on lesser known regions of the world. Social, economic, and political commentary.

Great site to review world political events, mainly American Political events.

The FBI’s Protected Voices initiative provides tools and resources to political campaigns, companies, and individuals to protect against online foreign influence operations and cybersecurity threats.

The protection of fundamental human rights was a foundation stone in the establishment of the United States over 200 years ago. Since then, a central goal of U.S. foreign policy has been the promotion of respect for human rights, as embodied in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

"The IU Public Policy Institute conducts research, policy analysis, program evaluation, facilitated discussions, and long-term planning for clients from the public, private, government, academic, and nonprofit sectors. Its primary areas of research are economic development, tax and finance, criminal justice, public safety, housing and community development, and land use and the environment."

"The World Bank’s World Development Report, published annually since 1978, is an invaluable guide to the economic, social, and environmental state of the world today. Each report provides in-depth analysis and policy recommendations on a specific and important aspect of development—from agriculture, the role of the state, transition economies, and labor to infrastructure, health, the environment, and poverty."

"...a multidimensional and disaggregated dataset that reflects the complexity of the concept of democracy as a system of rule that goes beyond the simple presence of elections."

"The Polity5 Project continues the Polity research tradition of coding authority characteristics of states in the world system for purposes of comparative, quantitative analysis. An improved and enhanced Polity5 version in the series is currently in development."

"Freedom House rates people’s access to political rights and civil liberties in 210 countries and territories through its annual Freedom in the World report."

"We operationalize electoral democracy as a series of necessary-and-sufficient conditions arrayed in an ordinal scale. The resulting Lexical index of electoral democracy (LIED), based partly on new data, covers all independent countries of the world from 1800 to 2013..."

"Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information for small geographic areas. The Census Bureau is the leading source of quality data about the nation's people and economy."

"...publishes caseload data from the courts of the fifty states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico."

Searchable page of great political science statistics/data links.

"The FEC was created to promote confidence and participation in the democratic process."

Through the IUPUI Polis Center, Savi is a large open-access dataset of community statistics of Indianapolis and the surrounding area. Use the "Community Profiles" tab to explore statistics based on geographic area.

The State Data Center Program's mission is to -- "Empower data users with understandable, accurate and timely information through the mutually beneficial partnership between the State Data Centers and the Census Bureau."

STATS Indiana provides easy, one-stop access to critical statistics for states, counties, cities and towns, townships, regions, census tracts and more.

The WomanStats Project is constructing what is already the most comprehensive database...with the aim of investigating the link between the security and behavior of states and the situation and security of the women within them.

"Free and open access to global development data."