LibGuides: Teacher Education: Special Education

Resources by Topic

American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry
The AACAP is a professional medical organization comprised of psychiatrists trained to promote healthy development and to evaluate, diagnose, and treat children and adolescents who are affected by disorders of feeling, thinking, and behavior. This searchable Web site provides information for understanding these disorders. Included are links to research and journals, training, information on child and adolescent psychiatry, fact sheets for parents and caregivers, and current research.
The Behavior Homepage
Maintained by the Kentucky Department of Education and the Department of Special Education and Rehabilitation Counseling at the University of Kentucky, this page is offered to school personnel, parents, and other professionals to gain access to information, to share effective practices, and to receive ongoing consultation and technical assistance concerning the full range of behavior problems and challenges.
Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice
The Center for Effective Collaboration and Practice's mission is to support and promote a reoriented national preparedness to foster the development, achievement, and adjustment of children with, or at risk of developing, a serious emotional disturbance. CECP's site offers an extensive collection of links related to emotional and behavioral problems in such areas as education, families, mental health, juvenile justice, child welfare, early intervention, school safety, and legislation.
Children's Mental Health and Emotional or Behavioral Disorders Project
"Families of children with mental health, emotional, and behavioral disorders often navigate multiple systems of care to access necessary supports and services. They may also face additional challenges due to stigma about emotional health needs. PACER’s Inspiring Opportunities Project brings together parents, youth, and professionals to help families identify the resources and supports that promote success. This project also promotes increased understanding of children’s mental health needs in the broader community."
National Association of Special Education Teachers (NASET) Resouces
A large list of classroom management resources that is sorted by specific disorder or challenge.

ADL Curriculum Connections
The Anti-Defamation League provides lesson plans surrounding all aspects of people with disabilities for all grade levels. This curriculum seeks to challenge the myths and stereotypes that surround people with disabilities.
American Association of Intellectual and Development Disabilities (AAIDD)
The American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities' Web site offers information on legislation, policies, upcoming events, and advocacy for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities. The site also includes media coverage of disability issues and full-text journal articles from their three publications.
The Arc
The Arc is a national, community-based organization advocating for individuals with intellectual and developmental disabilities and their families through public policy and provision of supports and services.
Disability Measures
DisabilityMeasures.org is an online resource with measurement tools for assessment, screening, and research concerning individuals with disabilities.
J. P. Development Disabilities Centre
This site is published by the University of Alberta in Canada. Access links to the Developmental Disabilities Bulletin, information from the International Coalition on Abuse and Disability, information on inclusion and human ethics, and other Web sites related to developmental disabilities.
Museum of disABILITY History: Educational Resources
This site provides extensive lessons plans, with worksheets and readings, on the history of people with disabilities, including the ADA of 1990. The lesson plans based off of the New York State curriculum also includes quizzes and other resources for different age groups.
National Association of Councils on Developmental Disabilities
The NACDD supports state and territorial councils in implementing the Developmental Disabilities Assistance and Bill of Rights Act and promoting the interests and rights of individuals with disabilities and their families.

All Kinds of Minds
Offers information to help students who struggle with learning measurably improve their success in school and life.
Eric Clearinghouse on Disabilities and Gifted Education Archive
The ERIC Clearinghouse for Disabilities and Gifted Education (ERICEC) was disbanded by the US Government on December 19, 2003. This is an archive of the ERICEC material created by Hoagies' Gifted Education Page
LD Online
This interactive guide to learning disabilities is useful for teachers, parents, and children. Resources include information in the field of learning disabilities, as well as a comprehensive listing of national and state organizations and professionals. Special Education teachers can find information on teaching strategies for a variety of subject areas, and can learn about assessment issues, inclusion, ADHD, technology, and interacting with parents.
National Centre for Learning Disabilities (NCLD)
This Web site offers links to professional organizations, information guides on specific disabilities, and resources relating to assessment, testing issues, and placement of students with learning disabilities. Learn about LD, study research, and find helpful resources regarding policy, legislation, and advocacy.
Teaching LD
Is a service of the Division for Learning Disabilities (DLD) of the Council for Exceptional Children
What Works Clearinghouse
Established by the U.S. Department of Education’s Institute of Education Sciences to provide educators, policymakers, researchers, and the public with a central, independent, and trusted source of scientific evidence of what works in education.

Helpful Websites

Dictionary of Terms used in Special Education
This site provides an alphabetical list of words and/or terms used in the field of special education. Links on the site also provide a variety of information about special education for parents and professionals.
IRIS Online Dictionary
This site, supported by Vanderbilt University's Peabody College, offers an online dictionary of terms related to special education.

Encyclopedia of Special Education by Cecil R. Reynolds (Editor); Elaine Fletcher-Janzen (Editor)
Call Number: LC4007.E53 2007
ISBN: 9780471678021
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
The Third Edition of the highly acclaimed Encyclopedia of Special Education has been thoroughly updated to include the latest information about new legislation and guidelines. In addition, this comprehensive resource features school psychology, neuropsychology, reviews of new tests and curricula that have been developed since publication of the second edition in 1999, and new biographies of important figures in special education. Unique in focus, the Encyclopedia of Special Education, Third Edition addresses issues of importance ranging from theory to practice and is a critical reference for researchers as well as those working in the special education field.

Association of Higher Education and Disability
Provides information about the Association on Higher Education and Disability (AHEAD), an international, multicultural organization of professionals committed to full participation in higher education for persons with disabilities. The Association promotes excellence through education for persons with disabilities. The Association promotes excellence through education, communication and training. Various membership fees range from $50 to $300.
Council for Exceptional Children (CEC): Current Special Education Topics
This link provides direct access to current topics in special education. Topics include core standards, IDEA, and Response to Intervention.
Federation for Children with Special Needs
Provides information, support, and assistance to parents of children with disabilities, their professional partners, and their communities. We are committed to listening to and learning from families, and encouraging full participation in community life by all people, especially those with disabilities.
Learning Disability Association of America
The Learning Disabilities Association of America is a national, non-profit organization. The association is "dedicated to identifying causes and promoting prevention of learning disabilities and to enhancing the quality of life for all individuals with learning disabilities and their families by encouraging effective identification and intervention, fostering research, and protecting their rights under the law."
National Association of Special Education Teachers
In addition to providing membership benefits, this association's Web site offers information on various topics in special education. Included areas are: ADHD, Response to Intervention (RtI), Individual Education Program (IEP), and latest news.

ADA Homepage US Department of Justice
ADA Library
This Web site provides legal documents such as the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, the ADA Amendments Act (ADAAA) of 2008, ADA regulations, technical assistance manuals prepared by the United States Equal Employment Opportunity commission, and technical assistance documents sponsored by the National Institute of Disability and Rehabilitation Research. There are also links to other Internet sources concerning disability and legal issues.
Federal Register
"... the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents."
Indiana Department of Education Article 7 Laws
Individuals with Disabilities Education Act
The Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA) is a law that makes available a free appropriate public education to eligible children with disabilities throughout the nation and ensures special education and related services to those children.
Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services (OSERS)
OSERS provides a wide array of supports to parents and individuals, school districts and states in three main areas: special education, vocational rehabilitation and research.
Office of Special Education Programs
As a component of the Office of Special Education and Rehabilitative Services, the Office of Special Education programs offers a site focusing more on legislative issues regarding special education rather than teaching aids. This site provides links to valuable information concerning the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act, longitudinal studies relating specifically to special education and government publications and reports.
U.S. Department of Justice Americans with Disabilities Act Home Page
ADA prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in employment, programs and services provided by state and local governments, goods and services provided by private companies, and in commercial facilities. This site offers access to ADA publications and requirements, technical assistance materials, new regulations, press releases, information line, and certification of state and local building codes.
U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission's Enforcement and Litigation Page
The EEOC identifies priority issues and sets out a plan for administrative enforcement and litigation of the laws within its jurisdiction. This page supplies information concerning disability discrimination laws enforced by the EEOC.
Indiana Disability Rights
IPAS was created in 1977 by state law (IC. 12-28-1-6 as amended) to protect and advocate the rights of people with disabilities and is Indiana's federally designated Protection and Advocacy (P&A) system and client assistance program.

Education Weekly Blog
"Your guide to special education news at the local, state, and national levels."
School Psychologist Blog Files
"This site contains information for parents to help promote better understanding of special education procedures and parental rights"
Special Education - Indiana Protection & Advocacy Services

Teacher Education: Special Education

Browzine Special Education Journals

Getting Started

Resources by Topic

Helpful Websites