LibGuides: Business: More Resources

More Resources

Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text of over 75 regional business journals, newspapers and newswires covering metropolitan and rural areas within the United States and Canada. Includes Crain's New York Business and other Crain Communications editions.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of full-text articles and citations. It includes 1,300 journals, as well as 21,000+ company profiles, 5000+ SWOT analysis reports, and 500+ case studies. Also, it provides citations, indexing, and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Earnings Calls -- Click on Advanced Options; Use the Source tab to find and select FD (Fair Disclosure) Wire. Add a company name in the Search Terms box. Choose your dates then search.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
Morningstar Investment Research Center offers real-time access to comprehensive data and independent analysis on thousands of investments, spanning mutual funds, stocks, exchange-traded funds, and closed-end funds.

16 Financial Ratios for Analyzing a Company’s Strengths and Weaknesses
Includes financial ratio formulas and examples
Beta: Know the Risk (Investopedia)
"One of the most popular indicators of risk is a statistical measure called beta. Analysts use this measure all the time to get a sense of stocks' risk profiles..."
Conference Call Transcripts (NASDAQ)
Read the latest Conference Call Transcripts
EDGAR
"...search information collected by the SEC several ways: Company or fund name, ticker symbol, CIK (Central Index Key), file number, state, country, or SIC (Standard Industrial Classification); Most recent filings; Key mutual fund disclosures; Mutual fund voting records; Mutual fund name, ticker, or SEC key (since Feb. 2006); Variable insurance products (since Feb. 2006)."
Financial Ratio Formulas
Within seven main categories -- liquidity, solvency, efficiency, profitability, market prospect, investment leverage, and coverage -- provides formulas to figure different ratios.
MSN Money
Stock quotes, financial tools, news and analysis
YAHOO! Finance

American Council on Education
"The American Council on Education (ACE) is a membership organization that mobilizes the higher education community to shape effective public policy and foster innovative, high-quality practice."
Association of American Colleges & Universities
"The mission of the Association of American Colleges and Universities is to advance the vitality and public standing of liberal education by making quality and equity the foundations for excellence in undergraduate education in service to democracy."
Association of American Universities
Organization of leading research universities in US
Grameen Foundation
"At Grameen Foundation our goal is simple – we want to see poor people, especially the poorest and those living in harder to reach areas, have access to microfinance and technology and as a result of access to these services, move themselves out of poverty."
UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
"United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) functions as a laboratory of ideas and a standard-setter to forge universal agreements on emerging ethical issues."
World Bank
"The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world."

What is Impact or Journal Impact Factor?

The impact factor (IF) is a measure of the frequency with which the average article in a journal has been cited in a particular year. It is used to measure the importance or rank of a journal by calculating the times its articles are cited.

How Impact Factor is Calculated?

The calculation is based on a two-year period and involves dividing the number of times articles were cited by the number of articles that are citable.

--From https://researchguides.uic.edu/if/impact

CABS (Chartered Association of Business Schools) Academic Journal Guide 2018
"The AJG is a guide to the range and quality of journals in which business and management academics publish their research...The AJG is based upon peer review, editorial and expert judgements following from the evaluation of publications, and is informed by statistical information relating to citation."
CWTS Journal Indicators/SNIP
"A key indicator offered by CWTS Journal Indicators is the SNIP indicator, where SNIP stands for source normalized impact per paper...calculated as the number of citations given in the present year to publications in the past three years divided by the total number of publications in the past three years." Choose Business, Management, and Accounting Main Area; Select Subarea.
Google Scholar Metrics - Business, Economics & Management
"Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. Scholar Metrics summarize recent citations to many publications, to help authors as they consider where to publish their new research." Choose a subcategory from the drop-down menu and then browse the top 100 publications in several languages, ordered by their five-year h-index and h-median metrics. To see which articles in a publication were cited the most and who cited them, click on its h-index number to view the articles as well as the citations underlying the metrics.
SCImago Journal & Country Rank
"The SCImago Journal & Country Rank is a publicly available portal that includes the journals and country scientific indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus® database (Elsevier B.V.). These indicators can be used to assess and analyze scientific domains. Journals can be compared or analysed separately. Country rankings may also be compared or analysed separately. Journals can be grouped by subject area (27 major thematic areas), subject category (313 specific subject categories) or by country. Citation data is drawn from over 34,100 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers and country performance metrics from 239 countries worldwide." Select Journal Ranks; Subject Area - Business, Management, and Accounting; Subject Category

Give.org - Better Business Bureau Wise Giving Alliance
Better Business Bureau Wise Giving produces reports on and evaluations of national charitable organizations
BoardSource
"BoardSource is dedicated to advancing the public good by building exceptional nonprofit boards and inspiring board service."
Charity Navigator
Charity Navigator helps charitable givers make intelligent giving decisions by providing informaiton on over five thousand charities and by evaluating the financial health of each of these charities.
GuideStar
"GuideStar is the world's largest source of information on nonprofit organizations."
Philanthropy Journal
"The Philanthropy Journal’s mission is to serve as a platform for nonprofits and their supporters to be reflective, think critically, and share their stories in order to build a stronger, more courageous sector."
USA.gov - Starting a Nonprofit Organization
Important information and services to help guide an individual through the process of starting a nonprofit.

American FactFinder
"Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information for small geographic areas."
Bureau of Economic Analysis
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
Consumer Price Indexes (CPI)
The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative base of goods and services.
County Business Patterns
"County Business Patterns provides data on the total number of establishments, mid-March employment, first quarter and annual payroll, and number of establishment by nine employment-size classes by detailed industry."
Data.gov
US Government open data - data, tools, and resources
FedStats
"Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information."
Labor Productivity and Costs
Labor productivity relates output to the labor hours used in the production of that output. This website addresses Major Sector Productivity and Industry Productivity.
Metropolitan Area Employment and Unemployment (Monthly)
Monthly & Annual Retail Trade
Retail trade and E-commerce
Population Projections
"Population projections are estimates of the population for future dates."
Producer Price Indexes
The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output.
Quarterly Financial Report (QFR)
Manufacturing, Mining, Trade, and Selected Service Industries
State Employment and Unemployment
"...data from the Local Area Unemployment Statistics and State and Metro Area Employment, Hours, & Earnings programs."
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Provides tables on religious bodies, religious preference, church membership, and attendance. Statistics are drawn from National Council of Churches, the Religious Congregations and Membership in the United States
Statistics by Topic in Indiana
Data collected by the State of Indiana, on a great variety of social, educational, and business topics.
Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions (Beige Book)
Published eight times per year; each Federal Reserve Bank gather anecdotal informaiton on current economic conditions in its DIstrict. The Beige Book is a summary of this information by District and sector. Covers 1996 to the present.
Unemployment Insurance Data
Weekly Claims Report; 2017 Solvency Report; and other statistics
United Nations Demographic Yearbooks
"The Demographic Yearbook is an international compendium of national demographic statistics provided by national statistical authorities to the Statistics Division of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs."
World Bank Data
"A comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe."
World Bank eAtlas of Global Development
"The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world."