LibGuides: Business: Global Business

Global Business

Globalization
Link to full Wikipedia article
Thomas L. Friedman Website
Media Bias/Fact Check: Least Biased
"Media Bias/Fact Check (MBFC), founded in 2015, is an independent online media outlet. MBFC is dedicated to educating the public on media bias and deceptive news practices.
MBFC’s aim is to inspire action and a rejection of overtly biased media."

JSTOR Security Studies Collection
JSTOR Security Studies Collection includes 66 high-quality academic journals and 13,000+ policy reports in the areas of security studies, political science, international relations, foreign policy, cybersecurity, terrorism, drug trafficking, etc. (Journal issues for the most current years may not be available.)
Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni includes more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexis Uni includes full text from hundreds of business & legal journals, newspapers, and news wire services. You'll also find business and company reports, SEC filings, legal case law, state and US legal code. It includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Business Source Complete
Business Source is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of full-text articles and citations. It includes 1,300 journals, as well as 21,000+ company profiles, 5000+ SWOT analysis reports, and 500+ case studies. Also, it provides citations, indexing, and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. It has selective full-text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. And also includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. .

Global Competitiveness Report Special Edition 2020: How Countries are Performing on the Road to Recovery
"...The 2020 special edition is dedicated to elaborating on the priorities for recovery and revival, and considering the building blocks of a transformation towards new economic systems that combine “productivity”, “people” and “planet” targets."
NOTE: On 26 January, the Forum will release its Global Competitiveness Report 2021-2022.
Global Finance Magazine
"...a monthly magazine. Its mission is to help corporate leaders, bankers and investors chart the course of global business and finance."
Hofstede Insights - Compare Countries
International Monetary Fund
"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
Media Bias/Fact Check: Least Biased
"Media Bias/Fact Check (MBFC), founded in 2015, is an independent online media outlet. MBFC is dedicated to educating the public on media bias and deceptive news practices.
MBFC’s aim is to inspire action and a rejection of overtly biased media."
Morning Brew
Daily newsletter of "fun-to-know business news." The mission of the Morning Brew ...is to make the business world more exciting and engaging — which starts with a daily email and transcends into a community of the best and brightest."
Our World in Data
"Our World in Data is a website that shows how global living conditions and the earth’s environment are changing."
Trade and Globalization
"...analyze[s] available data and research on international trade patterns..."
UN - United Nations
"The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights."
World Bank
"The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world."
World Economic Forum
"The World Economic Forum, committed to improving the state of the world, is the International Organization for Public-Private Cooperation. The Forum engages the foremost political, business and other leaders of society to shape global, regional and industry agendas..."
World Trade Organization
The World Trade Organization (WTO) is the only global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations.
Aspen Institute
"The Aspen Institute has earned a reputation for gathering diverse, nonpartisan thought leaders, creatives, scholars and members of the public to address some of the world's most complex problems. But the goal of these convenings is to have an impact beyond the conference room. They are designed to provoke, further and improve actions taken in the real world."
The Davos Agenda (Jan. 2022)
"The Davos Agenda is a pioneering mobilization of global leaders to shape the principles, policies and partnerships needed in this challenging new context."
Future of Jobs Report 2020
"The Future of Jobs report maps the jobs and skills of the future, tracking the pace of change. It aims to shed light on the pandemic-related disruptions in 2020, contextualized within a longer history of economic cycles and the expected outlook for technology adoption, jobs and skills in the next five years."
The Sustainable Development Goals Report 2021
"The annual Sustainable Development Goals Report provides an overview of the world’s implementation efforts to date, highlighting areas of progress and areas where more action needs to be taken to ensure no one is left behind..."
UN iLibrary
New..."...the digital source for UN publications with more than 9,000 titles in the 6 official #UN languages."
Library Survey Fall 2023

BBC Country Profiles
"Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions."
CIA World Factbook
Political and economic information prepared by the CIA.
Global Competitiveness Report Special Edition 2020: How Countries are Performing on the Road to Recovery
"...The 2020 special edition is dedicated to elaborating on the priorities for recovery and revival, and considering the building blocks of a transformation towards new economic systems that combine “productivity”, “people” and “planet” targets."
NOTE: On 26 January, the Forum will release its Global Competitiveness Report 2021-2022.
International Monetary Fund
"The International Monetary Fund (IMF) is an organization of 189 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world."
International Trade Administration
"The International Trade Administration (ITA) strengthens the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promotes trade and investment, and ensures fair trade through the rigorous enforcement of our trade laws and agreements. ITA works to improve the global business environment and helps U.S. organizations compete at home and abroad. "
U.S. Department of State - Country & Area Pages
UNCTAD STAT
From the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development...selections of key economic statistics by country.
US Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
Fact sheets focusing on U.S. relations with each country.
Washington D.C. Embassies
The Electronic Embassy provides information on each of the embassies in Washington, DC, with links to web-based resources where available.
World Bank
"The World Bank is a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world."
Our World in Data
"Our World in Data is a website that shows how global living conditions and the earth’s environment are changing."

Media Bias/Fact Check
"Media Bias/Fact Check (MBFC), founded in 2015, is an independent online media outlet. MBFC is dedicated to educating the public on media bias and deceptive news practices.
MBFC’s aim is to inspire action and a rejection of overtly biased media."

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni includes more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexis Uni includes full text from hundreds of business & legal journals, newspapers, and news wire services. You'll also find business and company reports, SEC filings, legal case law, state and US legal code. It includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. It has selective full-text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. And also includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. .

Morning Brew
Daily newsletter of "fun-to-know business news." The mission of the Morning Brew ...is to make the business world more exciting and engaging — which starts with a daily email and transcends into a community of the best and brightest."

SIFMA - Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association
SIFMA is a non-profit industry association that represents the shared interests of participants in the global financial markets.
United Nations (UN)
"The United Nations is an international organization founded in 1945 after the Second World War by 51 countries committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights."
UNESCO - United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization
"United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) functions as a laboratory of ideas and a standard-setter to forge universal agreements on emerging ethical issues."

Africa - Business and Travel
"...find African opportunities, business partners and reference information. Its news articles, industry profiles and a variety of directories contain information on companies, organisations, personalities, projects, and facilities in Africa and the rest of the World."
Afro Barometer
"Afrobarometer is a pan-African, non-partisan research network that conducts public attitude surveys on democracy, governance, economic conditions, and related issues in more than 35 countries in Africa."
AIB (Academic of International Business) Insights
"...short, interesting, topical, current, and thought provoking articles..."
Arab Barometer
"The Arab Barometer was established in 2005 by scholars in the Arab world and the United States.
Asian Barometer
"The Asian Barometer Survey (ABS) is an applied research program that aims to gauge public opinion on issues such as political values, democracy, and governance across Asia..."
Bank for International Settlements
The Bank for International Settlements (BIS) is an international organisation which fosters international monetary and financial cooperation and serves as a bank for central banks.
Canada - International Business Filings
The official site that provides access to most public securities documents and information files by public companies and investment funds with the Canadian Securities Administrators (CSA) in the SEDAR filing system.
Companies House
Information on the range of digital services offered to help in searching or filing company details and the statutory fees charge in the United Kingdom.
Doing Business
"The Doing Business project provides objective measures of business regulations for local firms in 190 economies and selected cities at the subnational level. "
The Economist Intelligence Unit
"...the research and analysis division of The Economist Group and the world leader in global business intelligence."
European Commission
"The European Commission is the executive of the European Union and promotes its general interest."
Financial Times
FT.com delivers in-depth global news and financial information; recognized for its authority, integrity and accuracy.
Focus Economics - Economic Forecasts from the World's Leading Economists
"FocusEconomics is a leading provider of economic analysis and forecasts for 127 countries in Africa, Asia, Europe and the Americas, as well as price forecasts for 33 key commodities. The company is supported by an extensive global network of analysts."
Global Attitudes & Trends, Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world..."
Global Barometer Surveys
"Global Barometer Surveys (GBS) is the first comprehensive effort to measure, at a mass level, the current social, political, and economic atmosphere around the world.
It provides an independent, non-partisan, multidisciplinary view of public opinion on a range of policy-relevant issues."
International Business Center
"The International Business Center is a not-for-profit organization that has invested hundreds of hours creating a series of dynamic and valuable resources for international business people, international business students, and teachers and professors at international business schools throughout the World."
International Business Etiquette, Manners, and Culture
The International Business Etiquette and Manners website will give you a wealth of information and resources that you can immediately apply during your international business travels and overseas assignments.
International Trade Administration
ITA's mission is to create prosperity by strengthening the competitiveness of U.S. industry, promoting trade and investment, and ensuring fair trade and compliance with trade laws and agreements.
Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO)
"The Japan External Trade Organization (JETRO) is a non-profit organization that provides business support services to companies expanding to Japan.
Latinobarometro
"Latinobarómetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 20,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 600 million inhabitants."
OECD - Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development
"The mission of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) is to promote policies that will improve the economic and social well-being of people around the world."
Travel Exchange Rates
US Department of State Business Center
Serves as the State Department’s portal of information on U.S. foreign policy and business.
Useful Links for International Trade
"...comprehensive searchable directory of International Trade Web Resources."

Source Evaluation and Reviews

CRAAP Test - Source Evaluation

Currency
Relevance
Accuracy
Authority
Purpose

Consider including these points in article reviews:

Author, publication/source, genre of work, date of publication?
How does the author develop/support their thesis?
What is the authors purpose and intended audience?
How is it valuable, in contrast or support of other sources?