LibGuides: English: Relevant Websites

Web Sites

Ancient & Medieval

Middle English Collection - University of Virginia Middle English texts in electronic format. Includes the full-text of works by Chaucer, Dunbar, Gower, and others.
Encyclopedia Mythica Award-winning internet encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion. Here you will find everything from A-gskw to Zveda Vechanyaya, with plenty in between.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies From Georgetown University, medieval studies links arranged by topic.

Middle Period & Early Modern

Complete Works of William Shakespeare Shakespeare's plays and poetry.
Early Modern Literary Studies Online journal devoted to English literature of the 16th and 17th Centuries.
Bulfinch's Mythology Provides the complete text of the standard guide to Western mythology.
Eighteenth-Century Resources Covers all of the significant and reliable online resources that focus on the (very long) eighteenth century--from Milton to Keats.
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature Life, works, essays, quotes and works for authors from Middle English, Renaissance and 17th-Century literature.
Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net (RaVoN) is an International Refereed Electronic Journal devoted to British Nineteenth-Century Literature.
The Victorian Web Information on a variety of topics in the Victorian period, including a timeline, information on genre and technique and author-related links.

Modern

First World War Poetry Digital Archive "The First World War Poetry Digital Archive is an online repository of over 7000 items of text, images, audio, and video for teaching, learning, and research."
VoS: Voice of the Shuttle A meta guide to websites of use to the scholarly community in the arts, humanities and social sciences. "VoS emphasizes both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources."
Walt Whitman Archive The Walt Whitman Archive is an electronic research and teaching tool that sets out to make Whitman's vast work, for the first time, easily and conveniently accessible to scholars, students, and general readers.
American Literature Links to resources on American authors, a timeline, literary movements and other American literature sites created by Professor Donna Campbell of Washington State University.
A Celebration of Women Writers Information, descriptions and related links focusing on women writers throughout history.
Harry Ransom Center Digital Collections The Harry Ransom Center is an internationally renowned humanities research library and museum. Its extensive holdings provide a unique record of the creative process of writers and artists, deepening our understanding of literature, photography, film, art, and the performing arts.

Reference Works and Indexes

Oxford Dictionaries Oxford Dictionaries provides free access that allows users to: explore its current English dictionary and thesaurus; listen to audio pronunciations; browse the grammar hub; and much more.
Westminster Detective Library It is the mission of the Westminster Detective Library to catalog and make available online all the short fiction dealing with detectives and detection published in the United States before Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s “A Scandal in Bohemia” (1891).

Poetry

PennSound Listen to poetry read aloud, author talks and more at this comprehensive site from the University of Pennsylvania.
Poet's Corner The collection covers roughly 7,000 works by about 800 poets, including some of the best known works in the English language, as well as many obscure and forgotten works that are well worth reading.

Associations/Organizations

American Dialect Society
"The American Dialect Society is dedicated to the study of the English language in North America, and of other languages, or dialects of other languages, influencing it or influenced by it."

Modern Language Association
"Founded in 1883, the Modern Language Association of America provides opportunities for its members to share their scholarly findings and teaching experiences with colleagues and to discuss trends in the academy."

National Council of Teachers of English
"The National Council of Teachers of English is devoted to improving the teaching and learning of English and the language arts at all levels of education." Professional Publications: Language Arts; School Talk; Talking Points; Voices from the MIddle; Classroom Notes Plus; English Journal; English Leadership Quarterly