Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Journal Articles in these Databases
Literary Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
Full-text from over 1,200 reference books and books, and 200 literary journals and magazines. It also includes full-text of 35 contemporary literature titles from Salem Press, 40 literary study guides, and 72 literary videos.
Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Indexes hundreds of thousands of short stories by author, title and genre. Full-text is not included, but there are citations for and some links to collections and anthologies of short stories.
JSTOR (articles) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes scholarship published in high quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. (Journal issues for the most current years may not be available.) These journals may also be searched from the library catalog.
JSTOR eBooks This link opens in a new window
More than 27,000 scholarly, mostly University Press, eBooks offered on the JSTOR platform.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The subjects covered in the MLA International Bibliography include -- literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
MLA Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information about journals in the fields of language, literature and linguistics. Data includes editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines. Many of these journals are currently indexed in MLA International Bibliography.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Ancient Greek and Roman texts, Public domain editions of this series. The list is in alphabetical order by author. English translations, with Greek or Latin parallel text, for Western classical works.
MagillOnLiterature Plus This link opens in a new window
Masterplots for literature, as well as a source for editorially reviewed critical analyses, character studies, author biographies and plot summaries.
Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference Online offers dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text biographies and narrative biographies. Contains entries from high-quality sources including American National Biography, Britannica Biographies, Cambridge Dictionary of American Biography. Also includes entries from popular sources such as A&E Television and Biography Today.
Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Short profiles from Current Biography and World Authors, citation periodical coverage from Biography Index and biographical content from Junior Authors & Illustrators. It provides biographical full-text articles, page images and abstracts from some journals. It covers over 500,000 people and includes over 36,000 images.
Find Periodicals by Title
Looking for a specific Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper?
Search here to see if we carry it at AU Nicholson Library (in print or electronically).