Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives

An overview of the Anderson University & Church of God Archives.

Nora Hunter Reading Room

The Nora Hunter Reading Room is located in the School of Theology building (THEO 070). The reading room is named for Nora Hunter, who founded the Woman's Home and Foreign Missionary Society (later known as Women of the Church of God) in 1932. The Reading Room is where you will access and use archival materials or ask any question to archival staff.

Feel free to drop by during open hours (9:30-2:30 M-F) or make an appointment.

Guidelines for using Archival Materials

General Rules

  • No food or beverages are allowed in the Reading Room.
  • Pencils are the only writing implements allowed in the Reading Room while library materials are in use. A supply is available at the Reading Room desk. Please return them before leaving.
  • All archival material is non-circulating and may be consulted in the Reading Room only.
  • Researchers must fill out a Patron Registration Form before handling archival materials.

Handling the Collection

  • Examine manuscript materials one folder at a time. Please maintain the exact order of items within a folder. Acid-free tags are provided to mark the place from which a folder is removed from a box.
  • Please exercise all possible care to prevent damage to materials: Materials should be laid flat on the table, should not be placed face down, rested on another book, or in held in one's lap.
  • Book rests are available to help support reading materials; special weights are available for holding pages open; acid-free tags are available for use as markers. Marks or annotations should neither be added nor erased. Tracing or rubbing is not permitted. Please do not write on paper laid on top of books (whether the books are open or closed).
  • Please turn pages gently. Readers should not attempt to cut unopened pages. Such books should be brought to the attention of the Reading Room monitor.
  • Do not use paper clips, rubber bands, or any three-dimensional objects for place markers.
  • Do not use Post-It notes.
  • If the item you are using seems too fragile to handle, please ask the archivist or monitor to assist you.

Reproductions

  • Please be aware that some items in the collection are too fragile to be scanned or copied.
  • Photocopies are 10 cents each, payable in cash only.
  • Some other services have fees. See here.
  • Ask permission before making a digital photograph of items. Some items may not be photographed.
  • Permission to publish images taken from materials in the Archives must be obtained in writing from the University Archivist.

Donations

The Archives welcomes donations of relevant material, though space, budget, and staffing may limit what can be accepted.  The Archives is especially interested in materials documenting the history of Anderson University, student publications, and materials relating to campus buildings, as well as the history and development of the Church of God (Anderson) and Church of God congregational histories.

Items and collections donated to the Archives by individuals or organizations other than Anderson University require a Deed of Gift to be signed by both parties. The Anderson University & Church of God Archives will store and maintain donated materials according to accepted archival principles and procedures to ensure both preservation and accessibility to researchers.

When records are transferred to the Archives, they become the property of the archives. Any material that is determined to have no permanent value or historical interest, or which duplicates existing collections, may be disposed of or returned to the donor.

While copyright generally belongs to the creator of records, we prefer that it is legally transferred  to the Archives. Transfer of copyright is encouraged so that the Archives staff may digitize and publish materials for online access. The Archives will have final authority about use, arrangement, and disposition of accessioned materials.

All unrestricted materials will be made available to all qualified researchers on equal terms of access. Donors who require restrictions on access or use of their materials for reasons of privacy or confidentiality must indicate restrictions on the deed of gift.