LibGuides: Psychology: Relevant Websites

CDC Data and Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Statistics
Diseases of the Mind: Highlights of American Psychiatry through 1900
"The National Library of Medicine-History of Medicine Division (HMD) collects, preserves, makes available, and interprets for diverse audiences one of the world’s richest collections of historical material related to health and disease."
Mental Health America
"Mental Health America (MHA) is the nation’s leading community-based nonprofit dedicated to addressing the needs of those living with mental illness and promoting the overall mental health of all Americans."
Mind Hacks
Neuroscience and psychology news and views.
National Institute of Mental Health
"NIMH, a part of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) , funds and conducts research to help answer important scientific questions about mental illnesses. Through research, NIMH works to determine what is promising, what helps and why, what doesn’t work, and what is safe. NIMH also communicates with scientists, patients, providers, and the general public about the science of mental illnesses based on the latest research.'
Neuroguide
Lists the best neuroscience resources on the Web in one location.
Neuroscience Information Framework
"NIF maintains the largest searchable collection of neuroscience data, the largest catalog of biomedical resources, and the largest ontology for neuroscience on the web."
Online Psychology Laboratory
"Search for materials using Keywords, Topic, and Method of Analysis. Keyword searches examine all fields and return results consistent with your search. Includes browse by topic function; a broad listing of topics in psychology is displayed, allowing for a materials search within that area. Browsing by method allows for searches based on research methodology...peer-reviewed materials include online studies and correlational studies, large data sets, demonstrations, and teaching aids."
Personality Project
"...The Personality-Project is meant to share the excitement of scientific personality theory and research with fellow academic researchers, with students, and with those interested in personality research. The Personality-Project is a joint product of the members of the Personality, Motivation and Cognition laboratory at Northwestern University."
PsyBlog
"PsyBlog covers mostly peer reviewed science that provides insights into how the mind works, self-improvement, mental health, habit change, happiness, intelligence, learning, memory and much more..."
Psych Central
"Psych Central, whose daily operations are overseen by Dr. Grohol, provides mental health information as well as annotated guides to the most useful online resources today in mental health, psychology, social work, and psychiatry."
PsychOpen
"PsychOpen publishes a wide range of psychology journals covering a variety of psychological topics. All journals conduct strict peer review and adhere to the highest scientific standards. All content is published under the principles of open access. Additionally, PsychOpen has started to provide free access to psychology books."
PsycPORT
Psychology news wire provided by the APA.
TED Talks: Ideas Worth Spreading
"TED is a nonprofit devoted to spreading ideas, usually in the form of short, powerful talks (18 minutes or less). Includes a variety of presentations related to psychology."

America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, 2017
"...compendium of indicators about our Nation's young people."
Center for Disease Control Data and Statistics
"Data sources include the Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), and the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS)."
ChildStats.gov- Forum on Child and Family Statistics
The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.
National Institute of Mental Health, Statistics
"... the best statistics currently available on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders for the population of the United States, in addition to information about possible consequences of mental illnesses, such as suicide and disability."
SAMHSA - Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive
World Health Organization Mental Health Statistical Reports
"The Mental Health Atlas series is considered the most comprehensive resource on global information on mental health and an important tool for developing and planning mental health services within countries and regions."

Assessment Psychology Online
"Assessment Psychology Online is a clinical psychology information resource created for the purpose of providing useful, reliable and authoritative information about psychological assessment, testing, and practice management for practicing psychologists." Does not contain full testing instruments.
Buros Center for Testing: Standards, Codes and Guidelines
"...professional standards, codes and guidelines that address testing and assessment practices in the profession."
Communication Research Measures
"These are measures that have been developed by researchers who are, or at one time were, faculty members or graduate students at West Virginia University. They were developed for use by researchers and may be used for research or instructional purposes..."
Educational and Psychological Measurement
"EPM publishes referred scholarly work from all academic disciplines interested in the study of measurement theory, problems, and issues. Theoretical articles address new developments and techniques, and applied articles deal with innovation applications." - SAGE
Finding Information About Psychological Tests
"APA neither sells nor endorses testing instruments, but it does provide guidance in using available resources to find psychological tests. Answers to frequently asked questions are provided at this site and are divided into three topic areas: published psychological tests, unpublished psychological tests and additional information on the proper use of tests."
Psychological Research on the Net
" Includes links to known experiments on the internet that are psychologically related...Sponsored by the Hanover College Psychology Department."

APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
The PsycINFO database from the American Psychological Association's (APA) is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.

Note: PsychINFO does not contain full text of testing instruments.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Includes information on drug use, safety and treatments.
DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs including FDA labels (package inserts).
Davis's Drug Guide.com
1,700+ drug monographs, 5,000+ trades and generics
Drugs.com
"Drugs.com is the largest, most widely visited, independent medicine information website available on the Internet. Our aim is to be the Internet’s most trusted resource for drug and related health information."
Epocrates Drug Lookup
Prescription drug information for thousands of brand, generic, and OTC medicines. Free registration required.
MedlinePlus - Drugs, Herbs & Supplements
"MedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends."
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database has grown to be recognized as the scientific gold standard for evidence-based information on conventional prescription and non-prescription drugs.
RxList
Online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs.

American Psychiatric Association
"The American Psychiatric Association is an organization of psychiatrists working together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental illness, including substance use disorders."
APA - American Psychological Association
"...leading scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States"
APS - Association for Psychological Science
"...advance scientific psychology and its representation as a science on the national level."
Social Psychology Network
"The mission of Social Psychology Network is to promote peace, social justice, and sustainable living through public education, research, and the advancement of psychology."
Society for Neuroscience
"...world’s largest organization of scientists and physicians devoted to understanding the brain and nervous system."

The Brain
This series offers extensive footage and research into the inner workings of this amazing human organ. Produced by Colorado State University, access provided by Annenberg Learner.
more...less...
Developed from the original series The Brain, these flexible resources offer extensive footage and research into the inner workings of this amazing human organ, including findings on Alzheimer’s disease, schizophrenia, autism, Parkinson’s disease, and many other topics.
Discovering Psychology: Updated Edition
Discovering Psychology provides an overview of historic and current theories of human behavior. Produced by WGBH Boston with the American Psychological Association, access provided by Annenberg Learner.
more...less...
The Discovering Psychology telecourse and educational video series first premiered in 1990 as a visual resource for teaching introductory psychology. The 26 video programs review the history of the field, including the work of early and contemporary theorists, practitioners, and researchers, illustrating their work with footage of classic experiments and modern studies. They tell the story of psychology through demonstrations, classic experiments and simulations, current research, documentary footage, and computer animation all based on extensive investigation and superior scholarship.

The Updated Edition, released in 2001, highlights major new developments in the field, and new areas of inquiry by the leading researchers. In addition to the new and updated video programs, Discovering Psychology: Updated Edition includes this interactive website providing video program extensions including interviews with researchers, essays, and details on experiments. In addition, the site offers five interactive explorations of facets of psychology including its history, research methods, the human brain, human development, and approaches to treatment.
The World of Abnormal Psychology
A look at psychological disorders and their impact on behavior. Access provided by Annenberg Learner.
more...less...
See how people with diagnosed psychological disorders actually behave. Case studies, enriched with commentary from experts, help demystify the biological, psychological, and environmental causes of dysfunctional behavior. The series explores current theory and practice in the treatment of the mentally ill, covering the multiple approaches that prevail in the field today.