"Healthy People 2020...10-year agenda for improving the Nation’s health. Healthy People 2020 is the result of a multiyear process that reflects input from a diverse group of individuals and organizations."
"Health, United States is the report on the health status of the country... Every year, the report presents an overview of national health trends organized around four subject areas: health status and determinants, utilization of health resources, health care resources, and health care expenditures and payers."
"Evidence-based practice for public health involves using the best available evidence to make informed public health practice decisions. This website provides free online access to evidence-based public health (EBPH) resources, knowledge domains of public health, and public health journals and databases. "
"...information about CDC offices and programs that focus on policy-related matters and on various laws, regulations, and policies that have public health implications."
"The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) Program has provided technical assistance to more than 400 surveys in over 90 countries, advancing global understanding of health and population trends in developing countries."
"The Global Burden of Disease Study (GBD) is the most comprehensive worldwide observational epidemiological study to date. It describes mortality and morbidity from major diseases, injuries and risk factors to health at global, national and regional levels."
"The most important and comprehensive database of LA&C with more than 880 thousand records of peer reviewed journals, thesis and dissertations, government documents, annals of congresses and books, published since 1982."
"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used."
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
"...analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings."
"HCUP Fast Stats provides easy access to the latest HCUP-based statistics for healthcare information topics. HCUP Fast Stats uses visual statistical displays in stand-alone graphs, trend figures, or simple tables to convey complex information at a glance."
"This site is dedicated to making high value health data more accessible to entrepreneurs, researchers, and policy makers in the hopes of better health outcomes for all."
"The Institute for Health Metrics and Evaluation (IHME) is an independent population health research center at UW Medicine, part of the University of Washington, that provides rigorous and comparable measurement of the world's most important health problems and evaluates the strategies used to address them."
The National Center for Health Statistics website is a compilation of statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of people. Data is collected from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.
"The Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) is the specialized international health agency for the Americas. It works with countries throughout the region to improve and protect people's health."
"A biannual publication highlighting the principal features of social security programs in more than 170 countries. Published in collaboration with the International Social Security Association, one of four regional volumes was issued every six months."
A collection of statistical information from UN member states; contains over 60 million data points covering a wide range of themes such as agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, etc.
"USAspending.gov is the official source for spending data for the U.S. Government. Its mission is to show the American public what the federal government spends every year and how it spends the money."
"Goats and Soda is NPR's global health and development blog. We tell stories of life in our changing world, focusing on low- and middle-income countries. And we keep in mind that we're all neighbors in this global village."
"Kaiser Health News (KHN) is a nonprofit news service committed to in-depth coverage of health care policy and politics. And we report on how the health care system — hospitals, doctors, nurses, insurers, governments, consumers — works."
"Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations."
"Find the most up to date information about the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences. Read press releases, find interviews, and watch videos where you may learn about our latest research."
"ScienceDaily features breaking news about the latest discoveries in science, health, the environment, technology, and more -- from leading universities, scientific journals, and research organizations."
"KFF (Kaiser Family Foundation) is a non-profit organization focusing on national health issues, as well as the U.S. role in global health policy. KFF develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations."
"The mission of the National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO) is to improve the health of communities by strengthening and advocating for local health departments."
"NNPHI connects more than 8,000 subject-matter experts with organizational partners across the nation...the national network is a go-to resource for analysis and best practices. We also provide important network connections for communities, government agencies, foundations, the health care delivery system, media, and academia."
"National public health institutes (NPHIs) help many countries around the world carry out essential public health functions and ensure accountability for public health resources. Globally, NPHIs serve as homes for countries’ public health systems and expertise."
"The National Rural Health Association's (NRHA) mission is to provide leadership on rural health issues through advocacy, communications, education and research."
"PHI and its programs improve health, equity and wellness by discovering new research, strengthening key partnerships and programs, and advancing sound public health policies."
