School of Theology and Christian Ministries: SOTCM Books and eBooks

God can't be described in a tweet.  Religious ideas are complex.  That's why long-form writing, eBooks and Books, are the mainstay of scholarly writing for Theology and Christian Ministry disciplines.  Long-form books allow the author to define a topic, explore its history, suggest a new idea, and explore implications and applications of the new idea, suggest paths for further study.  

Articles may be too short to adequately cover a SOTCM topic. 

All Nicholson library Books and eBooks are in the library catalog.  So that's the place to start searching. 

The library catalog also includes Indiana partner library books (Click on "Get via Indiana Partner Libraries" and the book will be shipped to Nicholson in 3-5 days, you'll get an email when it arrives.)

And the library catalog includes "WorldCat", literally hundreds of thousands of books owned by U.S. and global libraries.  (Click on Get via Interlibrary Loan" and the book will arrive in a couple of weeks.)

• Need a pdf scan of an article or chapter? Give us the citation, and we'll get it for you: http://illiad.anderson.edu/
• At home, and need a book mailed to you? Give us the citation, and we'll mail it to you: http://illiad.anderson.edu/
• Questions? Just ask a Librarian
• Check your Canvas course site:https://canvas.anderson.edu
• Also, be sure to check out the Anderson University School of Theology homepage at https://anderson.edu/theology-christian-ministry/

All Nicholson library Books and eBooks are in the library catalog.  So that's the place to start searching. 

Here are some of eBook databases Nicholson Library purchases, which are included in the catalog.  Sometimes you can search within books (chapter titles and full-text) when you go to a database.

• Preaching books in the Nicholson LIbrary Catalog
• Theological Commons (at Princeton Theological Seminary)
  This digital library of more than 75,000 out-of-copyright titles in religion and theology.  Most of the books were published before 1923.
• Asbury DMin and Ph.D. Dissertations
  Full-text versions of dissertations, theses, and projects from Asbury Theological Seminary.  Hint: Enter search terms in box in upper left.
• The Electronic Theses Online System (
  EThOS) offers free access to the full text of UK (British, English, Irish, Scottish) theses. 
• Early English Books Online (EEBO) subset
  Full-text searchable collection of 25,300 eBooks from the roughly 125,000 books and pamphlets to be found in the Pollard and Redgrave and Wing short-title catalogues of early printed books, published in English or in England before 1700.  These are standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books, created by major University libraries. 
• Eighteenth Century Collections online (ECCO) subset
  Full-text searchable collection of 2,231 eBooks from the roughly 135,000 of the English Short Title Catalog (ESTC).  English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom between the years 1701 and 1800.  These are standardized, accurate XML/SGML encoded electronic text editions of early print books, created by major University libraries.
• Evans early American Imprints subset
  Full-text searchable collection of 6,000 eBooks from among the 40,000 titles available in the Evans Early American Imprints Collection to 1800.  These books are standardized, accurately keyed and fully searchable SGML/XML text editions, created by major university libraries.  

= AU login required
= Full-text included
= Images included
= Video included
= Audio included

• Citing sources Subject Guide
• Turabian Quick Guide
• Student supplement for The SBL handbook of style (downloads as a PDF)
• Anderson University School of Theology Guide to Turabian (dated 2013)
• Learn How to Write a Review of Literature (Help page from University of Wisconsin)
• Writing a Literature Review (Help page from St. Mary's University)