POSC 2400: Political Science Research Methods: Resources by Topic

"The EPI utilizes a proximity-to-target methodology focused on a core set of environmental outcomes linked to policy goals. Trend data for each indicator, where available, are provided for the 2012 and 2014 versions of the EPI, along with trend EPI scores."

"SEDAC, the Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center, is one of the Distributed Active Archive Centers (DAACs) in the Earth Observing System Data and Information System (EOSDIS) of the U.S. National Aeronautics and Space Administration. Focusing on human interactions in the environment, SEDAC has as its mission to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an "Information Gateway" between earth sciences and social sciences."

Statistics on climate change from several federal agencies are integrated in this site.

Statistics collected by the American Bar Association on domestic violence, stalking, traffiking, sexual assult, etc.

Statistics on intimate partner violence from the Center for Disease Control.

The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.

In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.

Project Vote Smart (PVS) is a non-profit, non-partisan research organization that collects and distributes information on candidates for public office in the United States. It covers candidates and elected officials in six basic areas: background information, issue positions (via the Political Courage Test), voting records, campaign finances, interest group ratings, and speeches and public statements.

This annual report provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of education from prekindergarten through graduate school.

The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

"This edition of Projections of Education Statistics provides projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools. Included are national data on enrollment and graduates for the past 15 years and projections to the year 2017, as well as state-level data on enrollment in public elementary and secondary schools and public high school graduates to the year 2017."

NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.

The OECD is an international organization of thirty nations and is the best source of comparable international social indicator data for the world’s developed democracies. The data include a broad range of economic indicators, government finance and program statistics, and education and health care data. Most convenient are the data provided through the SourceOECD website, a subscription service available through many colleges and universities, in predefined spreadsheet tables or in tables created through an interactive database query. The OECD provides free access to “frequently requested data” and the data contained in its main statistical reports (The OECD in Figures, The OECD Factbook, Society at a Glance, and Education at a Glance) through OECD.Stat, the OECD’s central data warehouse at stats.oecd.org/wbos

The American Presidency Project archives contain 86,598 documents related to the study of the Presidency. The archives contain documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

The Court Statistics Project collects and analyzes data relating to the work of our nation's state courts.

"STATS Indiana...provides access to thousands of [statistics] related to geographic areas in Indiana and across the nation."

The US Census and States Business and Industry Data Center Program.