LibGuides: Family Science: Home

Search the Catalog

It is usually easiest to read eBooks online, a chapter at a time. If you want to download an entire eBook, it is doable but can be a bit complicated. Here are instructions. https://libguides.anderson.edu/ebooks/download

Search for Periodicals by Title Search through available periodicals at the Nicholson Library by title

Find Periodicals by Title

Looking for a specific Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper?
Search here to see if we carry it at AU Nicholson Library (in print or electronically).

Helpguides

Citing Sources and Research Tips
by James Bell Last Updated Aug 26, 2021 72 views this year

Tips

Be sure to also check out the subject guides for Sociology, Social Work, and Criminal Justice.

Need something on from the Library Reserve desk?http://library.anderson.edu/uhtbin/cgisirsi/0/0/0/36/485/X/BLASTOFF

* Need something from another Library, or sent to a remote location?Interlibrary Loan:http://illiad.anderson.edu/

Check your Moodle site:https://moodle.anderson.edu/login/index.php

* Questions? Just ask a Librarian:http://library.anderson.edu/ask.html

* Technical problems?http://bones.anderson.edu/remotehelp.html

Databases

Academic Search Complete (aka. Academic Search Premier) This link opens in a new window Scholarly journal and popular magazine with full-text and indexes, covering a wide range of topics. A good database for beginning searches.
Semantic Scholar search This link opens in a new window Searches articles and scholarly content especially in science-related information; includes the largest repository of free full-text life science articles online, High Wire Press, a division of Stanford University.
PMC (PubMed Central) This link opens in a new window PubMed offers free, full-text artcles from biomedical and life sciences journals. Tip: Add the extension "LibKey Nomad" from the Chrome store, and Chrome will show Anderson University Nicholson Library subscribed holdings when you search PubMed.
PubMed is created by the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window The PsycINFO database from the American Psychological Association's (APA) is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
Soc[iology] INDEX full-text This link opens in a new window SocINDEX with full-text is one of the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.
WorldCat (Books, eBooks, and more) This link opens in a new window WorldCat is the world's largest, most complete, worldwide library union catalog covering resources in all formats - books, full text, electronic books and journals, Web-based articles, and audio and video recordings. The Discovery interface is a user friendly, single search box, great for topical searches; try the FirstSearch interface for precise, known item searches, such as music titles.

APA Style Citations

APA Guide to Electronic References
American Psychological Association's guide to citing electronic resources. This resource is a supplement to the APA Publication Manual, 6th Edition

E-books

Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new window Oxford Reference Online offers dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

E-journals

Child and Family Behavior Therapy

2006-2012

Family Process

1997 to Present

Family Relations

2000 to Present

Journal of Obstetric Gynecologic and Neonatal Nursing

1997 to Present

Statistics

FastStats (National Center for Health Statistics)
Quick access to statistics for the following topics -- diseases & conditions; infectious/immune; family life; hearlth care & insurance; disabilty & risk factors; injuries; life stages & populations; and reproductive health.

Web Sites

Federal Digital System (U.S. Government Documents)

Search engine for official government publications from Congress, Federal agencies, Federal depository libraries, etc.

Annie C. Casey Foundation/Kids Count

Hundreds of Measures of Child Well Being

Boyfriends, Girlfriends, What Parents Need to Know about Teenage Dating
Essay about dating from the Child Study Center at NYU Langone Medical Center.

Child and Family Webguide

A directory of sites rated by experts from Tufts University. Topics: Family/Parenting, Education/Learning, Typical Child Development, Health/Mental Health, Resources/Recreation.

Child Development Institute

Designed to provide the information parents need to understand their unique child/children and to enable them to help each child develop into the successful human being they were meant to be.

ChildStats.gov - Forum on Child and Family Statistics

The Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics (Forum) is a collection of 22 Federal government agencies involved in research and activities related to children and families.

CYFERNET--Children, Youth, and Families Education and Research Network

Research-based information on children from the nation's leading universities.

Healthy Marriage Initiative
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services: Administration for Children and Families. Archives. Several Reports from recent years.

Heterosexual Cohabitation in the United States
Population Studies Research Report from the University of Michigan. Institute for Social Research (2006).

How to Save Marriage in America
Recent research from the Brookings Institute about the state of marriage in America

Marital Events of Americans: 2009
From the U.S. Census Bureau: American Community Survey Reports. Statistical Analysis of Marriage and Divorce in the U.S.

Marriage: a Legal History
From The Legal Information Institute at Cornell University School of Law.
This organization promotes open access to U.S. laws to users foutside the legal profession

National Center for Children in Poverty

Research on children and their families.

National Coalition Against Domestic Violence

Provides fact sheets, position papers, and other publications on domestic violence around the world.

National Healthy Family Resource Center
Fact sheets and reports on trends in marriage and divorce.

National Responsible Fatherhood Clearinghouse

Provides research, guides, tips, etc. for responsible fatherhood professionals.

Pew Research--Marriage and Divorce
Demographic Trends, Reports & Data from Pew Research

Public Opinion Poll Question Database

Site shows how questions have been phrased in past surveys. Search by keyword. From the Odum Institute for Research in Social Science, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Sexual Health - Guttmacher Institute

"Advancing sexual and reproductive health worldwide through research, policy analysis and public education"

Sloan Work and Family Research Network

The Alfred P. Sloan Work and Family Research Network is the premier online destination for information about work and family. The Network serves a global community interested in work and family research by providing resources and building knowledge. It is the place to find high-quality research and reports, easy-to-read summary sheets and briefs, and work-family topic pages—all in one location.

Social Gerontology and the Aging Revolution

Sources in the biology, psychology, and social psychology of aging

SocioWeb

Sociology Resources on the web. Associations, Topics, Theories, Journals, Surveys, Directories, etc.

Speed Dating
Research article from Northwest University professors. Originally published in the journal "Current Directions in Psychological Science".

What Makes You Click? Mate Preferences in Online Dating
Academic research paper on the subject of online dating.

Library Director

James Bell

Email Me

Contact:

765.641.4281

Key to Icons

= AU login required
= Full-text included
= Images included
= Video included
= Audio included

Family Science: Home