Skip to main content

POSC 2600: Home

Search the Catalog

   

 

   

   

 

Loading

Find Periodicals by Title

Looking for a specific Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper?
Search here to see if we carry it at AU Nicholson Library (in print or electronically).

   

   

   

Climate Change

Environmental Sustainability Index Some full text available
Environmental health and ecosystem vitality are gauged using 25 indicators tracked in six policy categories: Environmental Health, Air Pollution (effects on ecosytems), Water (effects on ecosystems), Productive Natural Resources, Biodiversity and Habitat, and Climate Change. The EPI utilizes a proximity-to-target methodology focused on a core set of environmental outcomes linked to policy goals. The 2008 EPI includes 149 countries based on data availability.
Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center from Columbia University Some full text available
SEDAC’s mission is to develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data and to serve as an “information gateway” between the earth sciences and social sciences.
United States Global Change Research Program Restricted Resource 

Statistics on climate change from several federal agencies are integrated in this site. 

Congress

THOMAS Some full text available
In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress.

Crime and Punishment

Federal Bureau of Investigation Some full text available
Statistics, newsletters and journals, employment information, etc.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data Some full text available
Outstanding Resource for Crime and Justice Data
 
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics Some full text available
From the U.S, Department of Justice.

Domestic Violence

American Bar Association 
Statistics collected by the American Bar Association on domestic violence, stalking, traffiking, sexual assult, etc.
CDC Domestic Violence 
Statistics on intimate partner violence from the Center for Disease Control.
General Domestic Violence Statistics Packet 
PDF file packet on domestic violence.  Note:  This package is dated 2002!

E-journals

American Political Science Review Restricted Resource Some full text available
2002 to Present 
Journal of Politics Restricted Resource Some full text available
2000 to Present 
Perspectives on Politics Restricted Resource Resource contains images
2003 to Present 
Polity Restricted Resource Some full text available
 2007 to Present
PS Political Science and Politics Restricted Resource Some full text available
2002 to Present 

Education

Digest of Education Statistics 
This annual report provides a compilation of statistical information covering the broad field of education from prekindergarten through graduate school.
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) 
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
Projections of Education Statistics to 2017 
"This edition of Projections of Education Statistics provides projections for key education statistics, including enrollment, graduates, teachers, and expenditures in elementary and secondary schools. Included are national data on enrollment and graduates for the past 15 years and projections to the year 2017, as well as state-level data on enrollment in public elementary and secondary schools and public high school graduates to the year 2017."

Election Statistics

American National Election Studies Some full text available
The American National Election Studies (ANES) produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
Federal Election Commission 
In 1975, Congress created the Federal Election Commission (FEC) to administer and enforce the Federal Election Campaign Act (FECA) - the statute that governs the financing of federal elections. The duties of the FEC, which is an independent regulatory agency, are to disclose campaign finance information, to enforce the provisions of the law such as the limits and prohibitions on contributions, and to oversee the public funding of Presidential elections.
Project Vote Smart Some full text available
Project Vote Smart (PVS) is a non-profitnon-partisan research organization that collects and distributes information on candidates for public office in the United States. It covers candidates and elected officials in six basic areas: background information, issue positions (via the Political Courage Test), voting records, campaign finances, interest group ratings, and speeches and public statements.

International Statistics

CIA World Factbook openURL Some full text available
Political and economic information prepared by the CIA.
NationMaster Some full text available
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development (OECD) 
The OECD is an international organization of thirty nations and is the best source of comparable international social indicator data for the world’s developed democracies. The data include a broad range of economic indicators, government finance and program statistics, and education and health care data. Most convenient are the data provided through the SourceOECD website, a subscription service available through many colleges and universities, in predefined spreadsheet tables or in tables created through an interactive database query. The OECD provides free access to “frequently requested data” and the data contained in its main statistical reports (The OECD in Figures, The OECD Factbook, Society at a Glance, and Education at a Glance) through OECD.Stat, the OECD’s central data warehouse at stats.oecd.org/wbos

Nicholson Reference Books

Extra Credit 
Review one of these reference books. Look up one of these great books and write your own review, then submit it to Dr. Franks to have it added  to this page under the title of the book you reviewed.
 
Chicago Manual of Style, 15th ed (REF Z 253 .U69 2003) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Long regarded as the essential reference for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in any field, the new fifteenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been revised and updated with current style and writing in the electronic age, making it easier to use and more indispensable than ever.

Presidency

American Presidency Project 
The American Presidency Project archives contain 86,598 documents related to the study of the Presidency.  The
archives contain documents such as party platforms, candidates' remarks, Statements of Administration Policy, documents released by the Office of the Press Secretary, and election debates.

 

Search Portals

USA.gov 
Official web portal to federal government information; Searchable by agency or key word.

State Data

NCSC: Research: Courts Statistics Project Some full text available
The Court Statistics Project collects and analyzes data relating to the work of our nation's state courts.
 
StateMaster Some full text available
US Statistics and State comparisons
 
STATS Indiana Some full text available
"STATS Indiana...provides access to thousands of [statistics] related to geographic areas in Indiana and across the nation."
US Census Bureau -- State Data Centers Some full text available
The US Census and States Business and Industry Data Center Program.

Instruction & Reference Librarian

James Bell's picture
James Bell
Contact:
765.641.4281

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = AU login required
Some full text available = Full-text included
Resource contains images = Images included
Resource contains video = Video included
Resource contains audio = Audio included