LibGuides: Communication and Design Arts: Journalism

Academic Search Complete
Scholarly journal and popular magazine with full-text and indexes, covering a wide range of topics. A good database for beginning searches.

American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank
"Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two."

Business Source Complete
Business Source is a scholarly business database, providing a collection of full-text articles and citations. It includes 1,300 journals, as well as 21,000+ company profiles, 5000+ SWOT analysis reports, and 500+ case studies. Also, it provides citations, indexing, and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886.
Communication and Mass Media Complete
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.
Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
A collection of full-text and citation coverage from scholarly and popular sources, spanning the spectrum of film and television studies. Includes over 36,000 images from the MPTV image archive.

Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a search engine that provides a way to search for scholarly articles and other academic literature.

JSTOR (articles)
JSTOR includes scholarship published in high quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. (Journal issues for the most current years may not be available.) These journals may also be searched from the library catalog.

JURN: Search Millions of Free Academic Articles, Chapters and Theses
"JURN is a unique search tool which helps you find free academic articles and books. JURN harnesses all the power of Google, but focusses your search through a hand-crafted and curated index. Established in 2009 to comprehensively cover the arts and humanities, in 2014 JURN expanded in scope. JURN now also covers selected university fulltext repositories and many additional ejournals in science, biomedical, business and law. In 2015/6 JURN expanded again, adding over 600 ejournals on aspects of the natural world."

Nexis Uni
Nexis Uni includes more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. Nexis Uni includes full text from hundreds of business & legal journals, newspapers, and news wire services. You'll also find business and company reports, SEC filings, legal case law, state and US legal code. It includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Newspaper Source Plus
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. It has selective full-text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. And also includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. .
MasterFILE Complete
Designed specifically for public libraries, MasterFILE provides full-text for nearly 2,000 general interest periodicals Topics include reference, business, health, education, general science, and multicultural issues. It also contains full-text for over 500 reference books, 80,000 primary source documents, and 600,000 photos, maps & flags.
SAGE Journals Online
SAGE Journals provides full-text articles in the disciplines of health sciences; life and biomedical sciences; materials science and engineering; and social sciences and humanities.
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Full-text for over 320 social sciences journals and detailed indexing for another 440 periodicals dating back as far as 1983.
SocINDEX Full Text
SocINDEX with full-text is one of the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database.

United Nations Treaty Collection
Includes official, full-text of mulilateral treaties deposited with the UN Secretary General.

American Journalism Review
1991 to Present
Global Media Journal
2009 to Present
The International Journal of Press/Politics
2008 to Present
Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly
1999 to Present
Journalism Practice
2007 to 2016
Journal of Communication Inquiry
1999 to Present
Journal of Mass Media Ethics
1985 to 2014
Media, War and Conflict
2008 to Present
Newspaper Research Journal
1979 to Present

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
"Chronicling America is a Website providing access to information about historic newspapers and select digitized newspaper pages (from 1789-1924) and is produced by the National Digital Newspaper Program."
Hoosier State Chronicles
Historic Indiana newspapers with full-text searching.
List of Daily Newspapers by State
Find your State. Find list of newspapers in cities within that state. Google Search for newspaper website.
Newseum.org
"This site provides access to the front pages of more than 2,000 newspapers worldwide (including local papers in the U.S.). These pages are in their original, unedited form and are refreshed each day. Newseum doesn't provide an archive of previous frontpages."
New York Times Online
Read the current daily featured stories and search the past 12 months.

McClatchy-Tribune (current regional news)
The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 500 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services. In the past, this database included the Anderson Herald-Bulletin, but, not as of 2020. It does include the Indianapolis Star, Goshen News, Lebanon Reporter, and Munster Times.

American Black Journal
"Television show that features interviews, round-table discussions and performances. The ABJ programs represent a wide variety of African-American viewpoints on issues important to the city of Detroit, the state of Michigan, and the nation as whole, ranging from labor unrest in the automobile industry, to the urban civil disturbances in Detroit and across the nation riots of 1967, the emergence of outspoken African American political leaders, and the explosion of Motown music."
American Journalism Review
AJR journal website and digital news service.
American Rhetoric: Online Speech Bank
"Database of and index to 5000+ full text, audio and video versions of public speeches, sermons, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews, other recorded media events, and a declaration or two."
C-SPAN
"Digital version of C-SPAN video library provides access to its daily coverage and more than 200,000 hours of archived political programming since 1987."
Columbia Journalism Review
"Web Site/RSS feed from one of the top communications journals."
Fact Check
"A review of world political events, mainly American political events."
FAIR: Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
"Challenging media bias since 1986. FAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986. We work to invigorate the First Amendment by advocating for greater diversity in the press and by scrutinizing media practices that marginalize public interest, minority and dissenting viewpoints."
History and Politics Out Loud
"Listen here for famous speeches made by influential leaders of the 20th and 21st centuries."
Journalist's Toolbox
Media Cloud
"An open-source platform for studying media ecosystems."
Museum of Broadcast Communications
"The mission of The Museum of Broadcast Communications (MBC) is to collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content as well as educate, inform, and entertain the public through its archives, public programs, screenings, exhibits, publications, and online access to its resources. "
Neiman Reports
"Nieman Reports is a website and quarterly print publication covering thought leadership in journalism. Its editorial mission mirrors that of the Foundation itself: “to promote and elevate the standards of journalism.” Nieman Reports is home to the Nieman Watchdog Project, which chronicles how journalists can hold those in power to account."
ProCon.org
"The leading source for pros and cons of controversial issues."

Life Photo Archive
"Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google."
New York Public Library Digital Collections
"This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more."
WorldImages
"This site contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery."

C-SPAN
"Digital version of C-SPAN video library provides access to its daily coverage and more than 200,000 hours of archived political programming since 1987."
TV News Search from the Internet Archive
"Segments of 355,000 news broadcasts."
Open Vault: WGBH Media Library and Archives
"Open Vault provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by public television station WGBH for individual and classroom learning. The ever-expanding site contains video excerpts, searchable transcripts, a select number of complete interviews for purchase, and resource management tools."

Statistics Pocket Book (European Central Bank)
"contains selected macroeconomic indicators for the individual Member States of the European Union, as well as comparisons between the euro area, the United States, Japan and China."
UNdata
"Contains statistical information on a wide range of themes including Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators."
U.S. Census Bureau
Website gives detailed demographic information on thousands of geographical area in the United States. Economic data available, too. Excellent source of statistics on poverty, educational attainment, race, etc.

Statistical Abstracts of the U.S.
The Statistical Abstracts is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.

State Data Centers
The State Data Center (SDC) Program is one of the Census Bureau's longest and most successful partnerships. It is a cooperative program between the states and the Census Bureau that was created in 1978 to make data available locally to the public through a network of state agencies, universities, libraries, and regional and local governments. The Business and Industry Data Center Program (BIDC) was added in 1988 to meet the needs of local business communities for economic data.

International Journalist's Network
"IJNet delivers the latest on global media innovation, news apps and tools, training opportunities and expert advice for professional and citizen journalists worldwide. "

Key to Icons

= AU login required
= Full-text included
= Images included
= Video included
= Audio included