Biology: Find Books

"Advances in Medicine and Biology" presents original research results on the leading edge of medicine and biology. Each article has been carefully selected in an attempt to present substantial research results across a broad spectrum. This book discusses research on topics such as the cardiac signalling of insulin and oestrogen hormones and protein kinase B; collaboration and conflict within maternity care; mass spectrometry studies in carnitine homeostasis; role of protein kinase B in nociception and chronic pain conditions; maternal pre-pregnancy body mass index; hydrogenases and nitrogenases as key enzymes in the production of H2 in the biological process; L-acetylcarnitine and Rett Syndrome; somatostatins and their receptors; diode laser in Stapes surgery; and CWH ubiquitin ligases and how they regulate key cellular events.

Biodiversity and Evolution includes chapters devoted to the evolution and biodiversity of organisms at the molecular level, based on the study of natural collections from the Museum of Natural History. The book starts with an epistemological and historical introduction and ends with a critical overview of the Anthropocene epoch. Explores the study of natural collections of the Museum of Natural History Examines evolution and biodiversity at the molecular level Features an introduction focusing on epistemology and history Provides a critical overview

Collective Behavior In Systems Biology: A Primer on Modeling Infrastructure offers a survey of established and emerging methods for quantifying process behavior in cellular systems. It introduces and applies mathematics and related abstract methods to processes in biological systems - why they are used, how they work, and what they mean. Emphasizing differential equations in an interdisciplinary approach, this book discusses infrastructure for kinetic modeling, technological system and control theories, optimization, and process behavior in cellular networks. The knowledge that the reader gains will be valuable for entering and keeping up with a rapidly developing discipline. Introduces basics of mathematical and abstract methods for understanding, predicting, and modifying collective behavior in cellular systems Targets biomedical professionals as well as computational specialists who are willing to take advantage of novel high-throughput data acquisition technologies

Encyclopedia of Bioinformatics and Computational Biology: ABC of Bioinformatics combines elements of computer science, information technology, mathematics, statistics and biotechnology, providing the methodology and in silico solutions to mine biological data and processes. The book covers Theory, Topics and Applications, with a special focus on Integrative -omics and Systems Biology. The theoretical, methodological underpinnings of BCB, including phylogeny are covered, as are more current areas of focus, such as translational bioinformatics, cheminformatics, and environmental informatics. Finally, Applications provide guidance for commonly asked questions. This major reference work spans basic and cutting-edge methodologies authored by leaders in the field, providing an invaluable resource for students, scientists, professionals in research institutes, and a broad swath of researchers in biotechnology and the biomedical and pharmaceutical industries. Brings together information from computer science, information technology, mathematics, statistics and biotechnology Written and reviewed by leading experts in the field, providing a unique and authoritative resource Focuses on the main theoretical and methodological concepts before expanding on specific topics and applications Includes interactive images, multimedia tools and crosslinking to further resources and databases

Now more than ever, biology has the potential to contribute practical solutions to many of the major challenges confronting the United States and the world. "A New Biology for the 21st Century" recommends that a "New Biology" approach--one that depends on greater integration within biology, and closer collaboration with physical, computational, and earth scientists, mathematicians and engineers--be used to find solutions to four key societal needs: sustainable food production, ecosystem restoration, optimized biofuel production, and improvement in human health. The approach calls for a coordinated effort to leverage resources across the federal, private, and academic sectors to help meet challenges and improve the return on life science research in general.

This best-selling text-a compilation of 28 chapters drawn from Cecie Starr's BIOLOGY: CONCEPTS AND APPLICATIONS, Fifth Edition- is designed for instructors who wish to focus on human biology. BIOLOGY: A HUMAN EMPHASIS includes the following coverage from the longer book: Part I (Cells), Part II (Genetics), Part III (Animal Systems), Chapter 27 (Population Ecology), and Chapter 28 (Human Impact on the Biosphere). Cecie Starr has developed this new edition to help students understand biology by engaging them in learning in every way possible. The book's extensive array of multimedia resources enriches the book's hallmark features: unique visuals on every page, applications in every chapter that show how biology is inextricably linked to everyday life, and activities and resources throughout the book that encourage critical thinking and spark curiosity in biological investigation. CD-ROM and segments on the FREE accompanying interactive CD-ROM, as well as CNN Today Videos, Web links, and reading from the InfoTrac College Edition library are all integrated with the text to support, illuminate, and reinforce the text. Cecie Starr's visuals work hand in hand with her clear writing. Each basic concept appears as a one- or two-page concept spread. This format helps student focus on information in manageable easy-to-understand segments. Main points are laid out clearly, summarized, and reinforced by visuals. The carefully written transitions between Concept Spreads help students grasp how each concept fits into the whole story. In the process, students develop an understanding of biology's amazing diversity and underlying unity.

This book focuses on the core topics of biology with a friendly writingstyle and vivid illustrations while exploring current real world issues. Aseven-part organization covers atoms, molecules, and cells; energy andlife; genetics; evolution and the diversity of life; human anatomy andphysiology; and plant anatomy and physiology. For anyone interestedin increasing their biological literacy - enabling them to make informeddecisions at the ballot box and understand the research findings theysee in the news.

'Inquiry into Life' emphasizes the application of all areas of biology to knowledge of human concerns, what the students are able to relate to. This distinctive text was developed to stand apart from all other non-majors texts with a unique approach, unparalleled art, and a straightforward, succinct writing style.

The author argues that the physical sciences cannot address many aspects of nature and that living organisms must be understood at every level of organization. He attempts to map out the territorial overlap between biology and the humanities, especially history and ethics.