Skip to Main Content
| Nicholson Library

Displays at the Nicholson Library: Past Displays

A guide for students to help them create a display in the Nicholson Library.

Amending the Constitution: Constitution Day 2023

Four posters that discuss amending the U.S. Constitution

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian 

Display Date: September 2023

The Rise of Censorship in Public Services (Intellectual Freedom)

Three posters about Censorship is Public Media

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: October 2023

Music Careers & Connections

Careers & Connections Display

Creator: Josephina Carpenter

Display Date: November 2023

"We Weren't Always AU"

Bulletin board display about the history of AU's' name change

Creators: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Library, Nic Don Stanton-Roak, University Archivist; Archives Student Workers

Display Date: January 2024

Jumpin' Johnny Wilson

Bulletin Board Display with many pictures of Jumpin' Johnny Wilson

Creators: Marcus Clark, Arie DeYoung, Mark Hollenback, Isabella Larrison, Garrett Stevens

Display Date: February 2024

Class: HIST 2350: Foundations of Public History

What is Open Education?

What is Open Education Infographic hanging on the wire rack

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: April 2024

National Poetry Month: Poetry Magazine Giveaway

A table with Poetry Magazines for students to take

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: April 2024

Images of Jesus

A poster display about how Jesus is portrayed in different cultures or publications

Creators: Owen Smith, Joe Carlisle, Danequa Smith, Danny Brumawi

Display Date: April 2024

Class: RLGN 2150: Hermeneutics: The Practice of Interpreting 

Constitution Day 2024

Poster displays with information about amending the U.S. Constitution

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: September 2024

PALNI Citation Infographics

Infographics about how to cite sources

Creator: PALNI First Year Experience Task Force; Installed by Graeme States

Display Date: November 2024

Remembering Jimmy Carter 1924-2024

A table with 10 books by Jimmy Carter displayed on it

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: January 2025

Tips, Tricks, and Helpful Hints to Surviving College

A whiteboard with QR codes on it that provide campus resources

Creators: Kerri Jarrell and Mackenzie Fridley

Display Date: September 2023

Highlighting "Banned" and Challenged Materials in the Nicholson Library Collection

A table with 25 books that the Nicholson library holds, that have been banned or challenged in other libraries worldwide

Creator: Graeme States and Various Students

Display Date: October 1-7, 2023

Tips for Recognizing Media Bias

Poster and books about how to spot media bias/fake news

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: November 2023

Martin Luther King Jr. Day 2024

A table with eight books about Martin Luther King Jr

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: January 2024

Open Education Week

A whiteboard with a poster about Open Education on it and a few questions for students to respond

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: March 3-9, 2024

 

AU Women's Firsts

AU women's firsts displays. Pictures of women who broke the class ceiling at AU

Creators: Elli Sutton, Gia Thorsen, Lydia Shannon, Kiersten Caudill, Megan Strauss

Display Date: March & April 2024

Class: HIST 2350: Foundations of Public History

Hymneutics of B.E. Warren

A bulletin board display about hymn writing Barney Warren

Creators: Anabelle Hall, Jillian Chaney, Nicole Clayton

Display Date: April 2024

Class: RLGN 2150: Hermeneutics: The Practice of Interpreting 

Understanding Copyright

Poster display about understanding copyright

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: August/September 2024

Banned Books Week 2024

A white board with questions about banned books and about 20 books that have been challenged worldwide

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: October 2024

Personal and Practical Devotional Books: Spiritual Emphasis Week 2024

About 12 books that are devotionals during Spiritual Emphasis Week

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: October 19-26, 2024

The Rise and Fall of the Klu Klux Klan in Indiana: 1925-2025

Blue poster about the rise and fall of the KKK in Indiana

Creator: Justin Brutchen, Spanish and History Major

Display Date: February 2025

A Celebration of Fiber Arts

A close up of a crochet exhibit that includes a bulletin board and a display case

Creator: Jennifer Stover, Library Acquisition Tech 

Display Date: September 2023

Spooktacular Scribes: A Timeline of Horror Authors

A poster that discusses four iconic horror authors

Creator: Trey Whitted

Display Date: October 2023

Warm up with a Good Book

20 recommended books for students to check out over winter break

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: December 2023

Student Voices in Collection Development

A poster explaining what Collection Development is and allowing for students to vote for a topic

Creators: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian; James Bell, Library Director with Student Input

Display Date: January and February 2024

Student Voices in Collection Development - Neurodiversity Research in the Education Field

A display highlighting the materials students of the new collection that students voted for: Neurodiversity in the Education Field

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: March 2024

This display highlights 12 new materials added to the library collection after a student nominating and voting period. The winning collection with 18 votes (out of 48) was Neurodiversity Research in the Education Field.

April 8, 2024 Total Solar Eclipse

Books and posters that highlight the significance of total solar eclipses

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: April 2024

Are These The Same Hymns?

A display case display comparing how hymn lyrics change depending on the denomination

Creators: Mariah Hoffing, Anna Pescio, Katie Bishop, Marlyn Menifield, Elora Gable

Display Date: April 2024

Class: RLGN 2150: Hermeneutics: The Practice of Interpreting

Meet the Library Staff

Display that highlights the librarians and key spaces in the library

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian; Izzy Strege

Display Date: September 2024

Anderson University Homecoming 2024 - A Look Back into the Decades

12 AU yearbooks set out on a table for students to look at

Creator: Graeme States, Learning and Outreach Librarian

Display Date: October 7-18th, 2024

Famous First Lines

Black papers with famous first lines from books on them

Creator: Graeme States, Izzy Strege

Display Date: December, 2024

Student Voices in Collection Development: Leisure/Fiction

Creator: Graeme States, with student input

Display Date: March 2025