LibGuides: Government Resources: Statistics

Statistics

American FactFinder
"Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information for small geographic areas."
Census 2000 EEO Data Tool
"Using this web-baased took, you can select tabulations for various levels of geography based on residence or workplace. The data estimates available present information for various occupation groupings by race and ethnicity and sex."
County Business Patterns
"County Business Patterns provides data on the total number of establishments, mid-March employment, first quarter and annual payroll, and number of establishment by nine employment-size classes by detailed industry."
Economic Indicators
Foreign Trade
"Foreign Trade is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States."
Gazetteer: 2010, 2000, and 1990
A gazetteer is a geographical dictionary or directory. The U.S. gazetteer files includes places, counties, county subdivisions, census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas.
State & County QuickFacts
"State and County QuickFacts provides frequently requested Census Bureau information at the national, state, county, and city level."
U.S. Census Bureau
Website gives detailed demographic information on thousands of geographical area in the United States. Economic data available, too. Excellent source of statistics on poverty, educational attainment, race, etc.
USA Counties
"USA Counties features over 6,000 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources."

Bureau of Justice Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics
"The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making."
Dept. of Treasury - Data and Charts Center
Interest Rates; Foreign Credit Reporting; Corporate Bonds (Historical Data); etc.
Federal Reserve: Economic Research & Data
Statistical Releases and historical data; research data; surveys and reports; Federal Reserve Bulletin; Working Papers
Key Economic Indicators
Personal Income & Outlays; GDP; Monthly Wholesale Trade; US International Trade in Goods & Services: Manufacturing; Construction; Rental & Homeownership; Retail, etc.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.

FedStats
"Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information."
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Provides tables on religious bodies, religious preference, church membership, and attendance. Statistics are drawn from National Council of Churches, the Religious Congregations and Membership in the United States

CDC Data and Statistics
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Statistics
National Center for Health Statistics
The National Center for Health Statistics website is a compilation of statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of people. Data is collected from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.

Bureau of Transportation Statistics - Research and Innovation Technology Administration (RITA)
"BTS administers data collection, analysis, and reporting and to ensure the most cost-effective use of transportation-monitoring resources."
Foreign Trade
"Foreign Trade is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States."
National Agricultural Statistics Service
Crops and Plants; Demographics; Economics and Prices; Environmental; Livestock and Animals; Charts and Maps; Research and Science