Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hoosier State Chronicles
Historic Indiana newspapers with full-text searching.
Access to the wealth of primary sources in Indiana libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions. It is a gateway to Indiana's history and culture found in digitized books, manuscripts, photographs, newspapers, maps, and other media.
Library of Congress - Digital exhibits
Search the historical archives at the Library of Congress.
The American Civil War: Free online primary sources
Librarian selected and annotated list of best Civil War primary source websites. Includes 1860's newspapers, 3000+ maps, photographs, diaries & letters, military dispatches, etc.
Harvard Open Collection
Harvard provides the Working Women Collection 1800-1930, the Immigration to the US Collection 1789-1390 and much more.
The National Historical Geographic Information System
The NHGIS "provides population, housing, agricultural, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible boundary files, for geographic units in the United States from 1790 to the present."
Public Agenda has been providing unbiased and unparalleled research that bridges the gap between American leaders and what the public really thinks about issues ranging from education to foreign policy to immigration to religion and civility in American life.
Northwestern's Repository of Images
This is Northwestern's collection of digital images on various topics.
Ancient and Medieval History
All kinds of sources dealing with Egyptology presented by Cambridge University. Institutions, museums, recent digs in Egypt, etc.
ThoughtCo. - Asia
"Discover biographies, historical summaries, and study guides to help you understand the many rich cultures that developed throughout Asian history."