LibGuides: Kinesiology: Exercise Science

Browse Exercise Science Journals

Finding Exercise Science Articles

Library Licensed Databases

CINAHL This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. It indexes articles about nursing, allied health, biomedicine and healthcare. It indexes articles primarily in the English-language, and selected other articles in other languages.
MEDLINE with full-text This link opens in a new window
Includes full-text for over 1400 medical journals. MEDLINE also indexes citations from over 5,400 academic journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Basic This link opens in a new window
This database provides full text for journals in a variety of areas pertaining to medical study.

Open Access Databases

PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
PubMed offers free, full-text artcles from biomedical and life sciences journals from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine.

Tip: Add the extension "LibKey Nomad" from the Chrome store, and Chrome will show Anderson University Nicholson Library subscribed holdings when you search PubMed.
PubMed is created by the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Database of free, full-text, peer-reviewed journals covering many scientific and scholarly subjects.

Finding Exercise Science Books

Browsing the Stacks: Exercise Science Call Number Ranges

Human Anatomy Call Numbers (QM)

Physiology (QP)

Medicine (R)

Select Books from the Library

Sports Nutrition for Health Professionals by Natalie Digate Muth; Michelle Murphy Zive
ISBN: 9780803676121
Publication Date: 2019-09-12
Sports Nutrition for Health Professionals merges the basic principles and latest evidence-based scientific understanding of sports nutrition with the real-world practical applications that health professional students must master to help their current and future clients to optimize athletic performance, overall satisfaction and success with sports and physical activity. Step-by-by, you'll learn about the scientific basis of sports nutrition and how to apply that knowledge to real-life situations and interactions with clients. You'll follow six different clients as they are evaluated by a variety of health professionals and undergo a series of assessments and self-administered tests. By seeing how the science of Sports Nutrition can be applied to sample clients, you will be able to take that knowledge and apply it to your future clients. Explore MORE online! The access code, inside new, printed texts, unlocks a wealth of instructor and student resources online. You'll also have access to physiology animations, online questions, interactive case studies, and audio podcasts.
Human Performance Optimization: The Science and Ethics of Enhancing Human Capabilities by Michael D Matthews, David M. Schnyer
ISBN: 9780190455149
Publication Date: 2019
Advances in cognitive neuroscience, engineering, and related fields suggest new ways of optimizing human performance. Especially for organizations that operate in high-stakes, high-stress, and competitive settings, helping individual workers and teams improve and sustain performance represents a desirable outcome. Moreover, to the extent that strategies to improve performance allow individuals to grow and flourish, enhancing performance is also a desirable outcome for workers. This volume addresses state-of-the-art scientifically grounded approaches to optimizing human performance.

Exercise Science

Images of Human Anatomy
Google images of human anatomy.
Innerbody: Human Anatomy System
Online, interactive human anatomy system.
Crash Course: Anatomy and Physiology
This series of 48 videos (each about 10 minutes long) will give you a brief overview of human anatomy and physiology.

Association for Applied Sport Psychology
"AASP is an organization focused on human performance, holistic well-being and social functioning through education, research & practice, certification and service to the profession of sport psychology."
American Kinesiology Association
"The American Kinesiology Association promotes and enhances kinesiology as a unified field of study and advances its many applications."

ExRx.net - Exercise Prescription on Internet
"...features comprehensive exercise libraries (nearly 1800 exercises), fitness assessment calculators, and reference articles."