Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AU Faculty - Teaching & Learning: Search for Articles

Browse Full-Text Education Journals

Selected Journals

Faculty Focus

Faculty Focus publishes articles on effective teaching strategies for the online and college classroom.

Loading ...

The Teaching Professor

"...a newsletter that helps college faculty improve their teaching, share best practices, and stay current on the latest pedagogical research."

Loading ...

The Chronicle of Higher Education - Teaching

"...teaching-and-learning experts give you insights on what works in the classroom."

The Chronicle of Higher Education - Advice

The Chronicle of Higher Education is the nation’s largest newsroom dedicated to covering colleges and universities.

Faculty Focus Podcasts

Loading ...

Search for Teaching & Learning Related Articles in these Databases

Find Periodicals by Title

Looking for a specific Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper?
Search here to see if we carry it at AU Nicholson Library (in print or electronically).

   

   

   

Searching for Articles

InterLibrary Loan (ILLiad)

Making the Most of Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a search engine that can provide links to full-text articles Nicholson Library already subscribes to or to articles made freely available by a publisher.  When the full-text is freely unavailable, Scholar provides citations and abstracts of an article that is copyright protected.

  • PROS OF GOOGLE SCHOLAR:
    • Ease to use...similar to regular Google
    • Citation information provided
    • Results from a variety of information sources...technical reports, preprints, societal publications, etc.
    • Full-text if available
  • CONS OF GOOGLE SCHOLAR:
    • Full-text not available or restricted without a subscription
    • Uneven coverage in social sciences, better for hard sciences
    • No limiter for just scholarly publications
    • Few options to limit or narrow search results