LibGuides: Communication and Design Arts: Public Relations

Best Bets!

Academic Search Complete (aka. Academic Search Premier) This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and popular magazine with full-text and indexes, covering a wide range of topics. A good database for beginning searches.
Communication and Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Communication and Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media.

You might also try...

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ): Media and Communication This link opens in a new window
107 free full-text journals belonging to subject: Mass Media and Communication.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy.
Humanities full-text (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Full-text from over 290+ scholarly journals dating back to 1995, and citation indexing for another 400 journals dating back to 1984. Includes articles, interviews, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama and poetry. Also includes reviews of books, dance, plays, films, operas, television and more.
JSTOR (articles) This link opens in a new window
JSTOR includes scholarship published in high quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. (Journal issues for the most current years may not be available.) These journals may also be searched from the library catalog.

JURN: Search Millions of Free Academic Articles, Chapters and Theses
"JURN is a unique search tool which helps you find free academic articles and books. JURN harnesses all the power of Google, but focusses your search through a hand-crafted and curated index. Established in 2009 to comprehensively cover the arts and humanities, in 2014 JURN expanded in scope. JURN now also covers selected university fulltext repositories and many additional ejournals in science, biomedical, business and law. In 2015/6 JURN expanded again, adding over 600 ejournals on aspects of the natural world."

Nexis Uni (formerly called LexisNexis) This link opens in a new window
LexisNexis includes more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources. LexisNexis includes full text from hundreds of business & legal journals, newspapers, and news wire services. You'll also find business and company reports, SEC filings, legal case law, state and US legal code. It includes U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) and international newspapers, including the Christian Science Monitor, The Washington Post, The Times (London), Toronto Star, etc. It has selective full-text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. And also includes full-text television and radio news transcripts from CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc. .
Web News This link opens in a new window
Provides near real-time access to thousands of global news feeds. This collection includes over 14,000 feeds across a range of business and general news topics.

Journal of Public Relations Research
1992 to up to 18 months ago
Public Relations Inquiry
2012 to Present
Public Relations Review
1975 to Present
Public Relations Strategist
2004 to 2017
Public Relations Tactics
1994 to 2017

AdCouncil
" Leading producer of public service advertisements in the United States, raising awareness and inspiring action on a diversity of issues, from texting and driving to autism awareness. "
Culpwrit
This site includes "career insights and direction for those puersing careers in public relations." - Ron Culp
Fact Check
"A review of world political events, mainly American political events."
FAIR: Fairness and Accuracy in Reporting
"Challenging media bias since 1986. FAIR, the national media watch group, has been offering well-documented criticism of media bias and censorship since 1986. We work to invigorate the First Amendment by advocating for greater diversity in the press and by scrutinizing media practices that marginalize public interest, minority and dissenting viewpoints."
PRovoke Media
"This website is a comprehensive source of knowledge and information about the public relations business, including an extensive body of knowledge that includes case histories, original research and reporting."
Institute for Public Relations
"The Institute for Public Relations (IPR) is a nonprofit foundation dedicated to research in, on and for public relations." Includes open access to The PR Journal. The site also provides a database of research on a variety of PR topics, such as: diversity in public relations, advertising and PR, global PR, etc.
PR Daily News
"PR Daily provides public relations professionals, social media specialists and marketing communicators with a daily news feed."
ProCon.org
"The leading source for pros and cons of controversial issues."
PRWeek
"PR Week is the leading source of news, analysis, features & jobs for the Public Relations industry."

Life Photo Archive
"Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google."
WorldImages
"This site contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery."

Library of Congress's Channel
Timeless treasures and contemporary presentations from the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. As the world's preeminent reservoir of knowledge, the LC is a steward of millions of recordings dating from the earliest Edison films to the present. In addition, the LC sponsors events, lectures and concerts that are free and now available online.
Open Vault: WGBH Media Library and Archives
"Open Vault provides online access to unique and historically important content produced by public television station WGBH for individual and classroom learning. The ever-expanding site contains video excerpts, searchable transcripts, a select number of complete interviews for purchase, and resource management tools."

International Public Relations Association
"IPRA is a worldwide organization with members in both established and emerging countries. it was founded for the purpose of organizing public relations professionals into a transnational society."
Public Relations Society of America
"The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) is the nation’s largest professional organization serving the communications community with a mission to “make communications professionals smarter, better prepared and more connected through all stages of their career.”"