Communication and Design Arts: Cinema & Media Arts

"This book charts the interdisciplinary activity around music in visual media, addressing the primary areas of inquiry: history, genre and medium, analysis and criticism, and interpretation." -- Library catalog

Originally published in 1988, The 'I' of the Camera has become a classic in the literature of film. Offering alternatives to the viewing and criticism of film, William Rothman challenges readers to think about film in adventurous ways that are more open to movies and our experience of them. --Publisher description

This volume of specially commissioned work by experts in the field of film studies provides a comprehensive overview of the field. Its international and interdisciplinary approach will have a broad appeal to those interested in this multifaceted subject. This major film theory collection:* Represents material under a variety of headings, including class, race, gender, queer theory, nation, stars, ethnography, authorship, and spectatorship* Offers an international approach to the subject, including coverage of topics such as genre, image, sound, editing, postmodernism, culture industries, early.

The self-proclaimed "First Newspaper on the Internet," artdaily.com was founded in 1996, a year after its sister publication Museos was published in print and online. While the publication focuses on a wide range of arts — from architecture to digital arts — its strong suit is daily international art news and its own special reports. The site also offers some fun features, including 360-degree images of La Sagrada Familia in Barcelona and the Prado in Madrid; almost thirty 3D images of famous architectural jewels, including the Empire State Building, Stonehenge, the Coliseum in Rome, and the Sphinx; a weekly art puzzle; and comments and feedback from readers around the world.

"Film Comment has been the home of independent film journalism, publishing in-depth interviews, critical analysis, and feature coverage of mainstream, art-house, and avant-garde filmmaking from around the world. Published by Film at Lincoln Center."

Founded in 1979 as part of the Dada Archive and Research Center, the International Dada Archive is a scholarly resource for the study of the historic Dada movement. A comprehensive collection of documentation and scholarship relating to Dada, the International Dada Archive is made up of works by and about the Dadaists including books, articles, microfilmed manuscript collections, videorecordings, sound recordings, and computer files.

Open Culture: Art explores cultural and educational media (podcasts, videos, online courses, etc.) that’s freely available on the web, and that makes learning dynamic, productive, and fun. We sift through all the media, highlight the good and jettison the bad, and centralize it in one place.

Smarthistory.org is a free multi-media web-book designed as a dynamic enhancement (or even substitute) for the traditional art history textbook.

A very useful Javascript tool for developing a suite of colors that “play well together.”

The Cooperative Digital Resources Initiative of the ATLA and ATS is a repository of digital resources contributed by member libraries...The CDRI database provides access to digital images of woodcuts, photographs, slides, papyri, coins, maps, postcards, manuscripts, lithographs, sermons, shape-note tune books, and various forms of Christian art, architecture, and iconography.

"Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google."

"This site contains approximately 100,000 images, is global in coverage and includes all areas of visual imagery."

Using clips from more than 300 of the greatest movies ever made, this series explores film history and American culture through the eyes of over 150 Hollywood insiders, including Clint Eastwood, Steven Spielberg, and Michael Eisner. In-depth treatments present film as a powerful economic force, potent twentieth-century art form, and viable career option. 10 one-hour and 3 half-hour video programs. Produced by the New York Center for Visual History in association with KCET/Los Angeles and the BBC. Access provided by Annenberg Learner.

"Filmsite.org is an award-winning website for classic film buffs, students, moviegoers and anyone else interested in the great movies of the last century. Detailed plot synopses, review commentary and film reference material are just some of the features available on the site. The site also contains film analysis, original content, information on the top films and most memorable movie scenes, "best of…" articles, and the most popular film quotes in all genres of film. Its many resources include a comprehensive overview of film history, a complete survey of the Academy Awards (Oscars),milestones and turning points in the industry, and background and descriptions for hundreds of classic Hollywood/American and other English-language movies from the last one hundred years."

Timeless treasures and contemporary presentations from the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. As the world's preeminent reservoir of knowledge, the LC is a steward of millions of recordings dating from the earliest Edison films to the present. In addition, the LC sponsors events, lectures and concerts that are free and now available online.

The Museum of Modern Art, MoMA's collection, special exhibitions, and educational programs strive to engage people in an open-ended conversation about the past and the present, the modern and the contemporary, the new and the newer. MoMAvideos broadens this conversation by allowing you to watch and share exhibition and film previews, public programs, performances, and behind-the-scenes looks at conservation and art installation at MoMA.

"The official channel of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is the only place to relive favorite Oscar® moments and see exclusive interviews with the talented film professionals who comprise the Academy membership."

Featured on ABC and CNN. Nominated for Most Creative Video. 2nd Annual YouTube Awards

The Musée du Louvre houses 35,000 works of art drawn from eight departments, displayed in over 60,000 square meters of exhibition space dedicated to the permanent collections. Explore the works on display, taking a thematic or cross-departmental approach.

The National Museum of American Illustration (NMAI) was founded in 1998 by Judy Goffman Cutler and Laurence Cutler to house their art collection primarily from the 'Golden Age of Illustration" but comparing and exhibiting illustration from all periods, styles, and venues. The Museum’s American Imagist Collection features masterpieces of illustrative art and is the largest such collection in the world. Illustrators combine personal expression with pictorial representation in order to convey ideas.

The only museum in the world dedicated exclusively to recognizing the contributions of women artists.

"The Paley Center for Media, with locations in New York and Los Angeles, leads the discussion about the cultural, creative, and social significance of television, radio, and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public."

The Vatican has acquired a remarkably rich collection of historically and aesthetically valuable objects: Michelangelo's Sistine Chapel frescos and rooms full of Raphael paintings, of course; but also Egyptian, Etruscan, and major "ethnological" pieces as well. This Web site offers easy and attractive access to these collections through informative texts and thoughtfully chosen coordinated images.

The American Printing History Association encourages the study of printing history and its related arts and skills, including calligraphy, typefounding, typography, papermaking, bookbinding, illustration, and publishing. APHA is especially, but by no means exclusively, interested in American printing history.

"Domitor, the international society for the study of early cinema, is an association for people with a scholarly interest in cinema from its beginnings to 1915."

The Indiana Arts Commission is a government agency that advocates arts development opportunities across the state, and stewards effective use of public and private resources for the arts. It stimulates public interest in, and participation with, Indiana's diverse arts resources and cultural heritage. The Arts Commission works to enhance public awareness of the arts, life-long learning opportunities, and arts education programs.

"Dedicated to the scholarly study of film, television, video and new media."

"VRA is a multidisciplinary organization dedicated to furthering research and education in the field of image management within the educational, cultural heritage, and commercial environments."

The National Endowment for the Arts was established by Congress in 1965 as an independent agency of the federal government. To date, the NEA has awarded more than $4 billion to support artistic excellence, creativity, and innovation for the benefit of individuals and communities. The NEA extends its work through partnerships with state arts agencies, local leaders, other federal agencies, and the philanthropic sector.