Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Journal Articles in These Databases
"BAnQ has adopted a wide-ranging digitization program that would cover the entire published and archival documentary heritage produced in Québec since the 17th century, or of foreign origin and related to Québec. All categories of materials are included: printed and handwritten material, photographs, sound recordings and so on. BAnQ's digital collection is developing on an ongoing basis and all these resources are available free of charge."
Gallica, Bibliotheque Nationale de France
This online resource from the French National Library includes books, manuscripts, maps, sound recordings, images, videos, magazines, etc., in French covering a variety of subjects.
History Reference Center
Includes full-text for 56,000+ primary source historical documents, as well as 1,620 reference books, 150 history periodicals, 78,000 biographies, 113,000 photos and maps, and 80 hours of video.
JSTOR includes scholarship published in high quality academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. (Journal issues for the most current years may not be available.) These journals may also be searched from the library catalog.
MLA Directory of Periodicals
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information about journals in the fields of language, literature and linguistics. Data includes editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices, and submission guidelines. Many of these journals are currently indexed in MLA International Bibliography.
MLA International Bibliography
The subjects covered in the MLA International Bibliography include -- literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Listings on rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature are also included.
How to Search For Articles in Databases
Find Periodicals by Title
Looking for a specific Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper?
Search here to see if we carry it at AU Nicholson Library (in print or electronically).
Suggested Periodical Titles