Social Work: Find eBooks and Print Books

The second edition of this popular guide to social work careers has been completely updated and expanded to reflect current trends in social work education and social work practice, including the employment outlook in various fields of practice, current accreditation standards, core competencies, and licensing requirements, along with new opportunities for social workers resulting from health care reform and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. With a focus on the interdisciplinary nature of social work, the book describes both traditional careers and those that are off the beaten path in such arenas as forensic social work, social entrepreneurship, working in political systems, international careers, and community practice. Well organized and written in a conversational tone, each chapter describes a particular social work domain, illustrating specific careers within that field including best features, challenges, required core competencies and skills, and educational and licensing requirements needed to succeed. For each career the book also discusses employment outlook and includes recommended references for more in-depth information. Vivid stories from social workers across the country further help readers to choose a career that is a good fit. Additionally, the book includes updated job-hunting tools and websites, including international opportunities, and ways to offset the high cost of higher education. Questionnaires and self-assessment checklists provide additional fodder to help readers choose a social work career tailored to their unique talents, interests, and passions. New to the Second Edition: Presents updated accreditation standards, core competencies, and licensing requirements Describes new opportunities for social workers resulting from health care reform and the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act Discusses the impact of our current social, economic, and political climate on the profession Includes new career-planning and job-hunting tools Addresses how students can offset the high cost of higher education

People all over the world are confronted by issues such as poverty, a lack of access to quality education, unaffordable and or inadequate housing, and a lack of needed health and mental services on a daily basis. Due to these issues, there is a need for social workers who have access to relevant and timely scholarly materials in order to meet the needs of those facing these issues. The social, psychological, and biological factors resulting from these issues determine the level of a person's mental health at any given point in time and it is necessary for social workers to continue to evolve and develop to the new faces and challenges of the times in order to adequately understand the effects of these issues.In the first and second editions of the Social Workers' Desk Reference, the changes that were occurring in social work practice, education, and research were highlighted and focused upon. This third edition continues in the same tradition and continues to respond to the changes occurring in society and how they are impacting the education, research, and practice of social work as a whole. With 159 chapters collaboratively written by luminaries in the profession, this third edition serves as a comprehensive guide to social work practice by providing the most recent conceptual knowledge and empirical evidence to aid in the understanding of the rapidly changing field of social work. Each chapter is short and contains practical information in addition to websites and updated references. Social work practitioners, educators, students, and other allied professionals can utilize the Social Workers' Desk Reference to gain interdisciplinary and interprofessional education, practice, and research.

A contemporary look at social work practice and the many career possibilities--with detailed coverage of important new and emerging trends As the practice of social work continues to diversify, students need a clear picture of the current state of the field and an up-to-date source of information and guidance on emerging career opportunities. Social Work Fields of Practice provides both. Written by a team of experts in their respective specialties, this book features a comprehensive overview of contemporary social work practice, discussing historical trends and demographics, professional issues, ethics, and diversity for each practice area. Both traditional areas and new fields are considered from a variety of perspectives, including the clinical, ethical, cultural, legal, theoretical, and technological. Addressing the Council on Social Work Education's required competencies for accreditation (EPAS), Social Work Fields of Practice contains pedagogical features such as Key Terms, Review Questions for Critical Thinking, and Online Resources. It is the most timely, all-encompassing resource of its kind, covering: Child welfare Family-centered practice School social work Substance abuse Mental health Social work disability practice Gerontological social work Forensic social work Veterinary social work Military social work International social work Social work practice with immigrant and indigenous populations With expert, in-depth discussions of the most important specialties and practice environments for today's social worker, Social Work Fields of Practice is an invaluable resource for undergraduate and graduate students preparing to enter this noble profession, as well as social workers seeking to expand their professional horizons.

After graduating, students in social work are faced with the daunting and stressful decision of choosing their specialty from the many that are available to them.  JessicaRosenberg has designed this guidebook to make this process easier, providing students with real world and practical information about what it is really like to work as a social worker. Each chapter covers a different practice setting, such as child welfare, gerontology, and addictions, and follows the same format.  The Field Overview and Forecast describes the social worker's role, scope of services, and emerging issues and employment trends. The Critical Issues section consists of an interview with an established professional in his or her chosen field, offering a look into their personal journeys as they progressed through their careers. A vignette written by a practitioner in their area of specialty makes-up the First Person Narrative, providing the reader with a look at the joys and challenges of working in that particular field. Each chapter then concludes with helpful resources to learn more, such as books and websites, as well as information about specialty credentials and educational programs and centres. Those entering the social work field will find this an indispensible guide as they select their specialty and begin their career.

The dynamic vocabulary of social work, like the profession itself, continues to grow and become more complex. Since the first edition of 'The Social Work Dictionary' in 1987, this essential reference work has been recognised as the definitive lexicon of social work. Now in its fifth edition, the dictionary captures over 9,000 terms, cataloguing and cross-referencing the nomenclature, concepts, organisations, historical figures, and values that define the profession. A special historical section represents a chronology of the significant developments in the United States and the world toward social welfare policies, practices, and the betterment of humanity. Used extensively in schools of social work, social service agency libraries, and in social work offices world-wide, this is a staple in professional libraries. It is unequalled as a study tool for preparing for licensing and certification exams. Every social worker -- from professor to student, from novice to experienced professional -- should own this unparalleled resource for understanding the language of social work and related disciplines.

Conveys the breadth and depth of the social work profession's collective expertise, formulated and written by social workers from many backgrounds and competencies