LibGuides: Nursing: More Resources

More Resources

American Health Information Management Association (AHIMA)
Founded in 1928 to improve health record quality, AHIMA has played a leadership role in the effective management of health data and medical records needed to deliver quality healthcare to the public.
American Nurses Association
The American Nurses Association (ANA) is the only full-service professional organization representing registered nurses through its constituent and state nurses associations and its organizational affiliates.
American Psychiatric Nurses Association
A professional organization of over 6,000 members, we are committed to the specialty practice of psychiatric-mental health nursing, health and wellness promotion through identification of mental health issues, prevention of mental health problems and the care and treatment of persons with psychiatric disorders.
Association of periOperative Registered Nurses
"AORN is a non-profit membership association based in Denver, Colorado that represents the interests of more than 160,000 perioperative nurses by providing nursing education, standards, and clinical practice resources – including the peer-reviewed, monthly publication AORN Journal – to enable optimal outcomes for patients undergoing operative and other invasive procedures. "
Indiana State Nurses Association
"The Indiana State Nurses Association is the professional organization for Indiana’s registered nurses."
List of Additional Nursing Organizations
QSEN Institute
"The Quality and Safety Education for Nurses (QSEN) project addresses the challenge of preparing future nurses with the knowledge, skills, and attitudes (KSAs) necessary to continuously improve the quality and safety of the healthcare systems within which they work. This website is a central repository of information on the core QSEN competencies, KSAs, teaching strategies, and faculty development resources designed to best support this goa"

Culture, Language and Health Literacy
From the Department of Health and Human Services, Health Resources and Services Administration..."To improve individual health and build healthy communities, health care providers need to recognize and address the unique culture, language and health literacy of diverse consumers and communities."
ethnoMED
"EthnoMed is Harborview Medical Center's ethnic medicine website containing medical and cultural information about immigrant and refugee groups. Information is specific to groups in the Seattle area, but much of the cultural and health information is of interest and applicable in other geographic areas."
National Center for Cultural Competence
The mission of the NCCC is to increase the capacity of health care and mental health care programs to design, implement, and evaluate culturally and linguistically competent service delivery systems to address growing diversity, persistent disparities, and to promote health and mental health equity."

DailyMed
DailyMed provides high quality information about marketed drugs including FDA labels (package inserts).
Davis's Drug Guide.com
1,700+ drug monographs, 5,000+ trades and generics
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)
"The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed."
Epocrates Drug Lookup
Prescription drug information for thousands of brand, generic, and OTC medicines. Free registration required.
RxList
Online medical resource dedicated to offering detailed and current pharmaceutical information on brand and generic drugs.
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database has grown to be recognized as the scientific gold standard for evidence-based information on conventional prescription and non-prescription drugs.

Best BETs (Best Evidence Topics)
Provides rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature. Developed in the Emergency Dept. of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK.
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) National Guideline Clearinghouse
"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality's (AHRQ) mission is to produce evidence to make health care safer, higher quality, more accessible, equitable, and affordable, and to work within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services and with other partners to make sure that the evidence is understood and used."
Agengy for Healthcare Research and Quality National Quality Measures Clearinghouse
A public resource for evidence-based quality measures and measure sets.

Nursing Theory and Research
"The Nursing Theory Page is a collaborative effort by an international group. We are interested in developing a collection of resources about nursing theories throughout the world."
Nursing Theory
A list of major nursing theorists who have contributed to the development of professional nursing practice.

National Center for Health Statistics: FastStats, By Topic
Quick access to statistics for the following topics -- diseases & conditions; infectious/immune; family life; health care & insurance; disability & risk factors; injuries; life stages & populations; and reproductive health.
American Community Survey (ACS)
Ongoing statistical survey that samples a small percentage of the population every year -- giving communities the information they need to plan investments and services.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Data & Statistics
STATSINDIANA
"STATS Indiana...provides access to thousands of [statistics] related to geographic areas in Indiana and across the nation."
United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) Statistical Databases
Searches a variety of statistical resources of the UN system.
U.S. health rankings by state and county
University of Wisconsin annual data for all U.S. counties back to 2010.

Database of Genotypes and Pheotypes (dbGaP)
"The database of Genotypes and Phenotypes (dbGaP) was developed to archive and distribute the data and results from studies that have investigated the interaction of genotype and phenotype in Humans."
Healthfinder.gov
"...government website where you will find information and tools to help you and those you care about stay healthy."
HealthLeaders Media
"HealthLeaders Media, a division of BLR, is a multi-platform media company dedicated to meeting the business information needs of healthcare executives and professionals."
Medscape Nurses
"Medscape is the leading online global destination for physicians and healthcare professionals worldwide, offering the latest medical news and expert perspectives; essential point-of-care drug and disease information; and relevant professional education and CME."
Nursing Times
Voice for the nursing community and the leading source of nursing news and best practice in the United Kingdom
National Cancer Institute
Comprehensive site with cancer related links and information.
National Institutes of Health
"The National Institutes of Health (NIH), a part of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, is the nation’s medical research agency — making important discoveries that improve health and save lives."
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
"It is the mission of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services (HHS) to enhance and protect the health and well-being of all Americans. We fulfill that mission by providing for effective health and human services and fostering advances in medicine, public health, and social services."

Nursing: More Resources

More Resources

Library Survey Fall 2023