Skip to main content

BSNS 4310 - Business Plan Development: Home

"Salt & Light"

At the Falls School of Business, we believe that students in business can be "salt and light" in a world looking for hope, compassion, and meaning.

Search the Catalog

   

 

   

   

 

Loading

Find Periodicals by Title

Looking for a specific Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper?
Search here to see if we carry it at AU Nicholson Library (in print or electronically).

   

   

   

The Economist - Business

Loading

The Economist - Finance & Econ

Loading

Tips

“A leader is one who knows the way, goes the way and shows the way.”  John Maxwell

Associations/Organizations

American Marketing Association 
The American Marketing Association (AMA) is the largest marketing association in North America. It is a professional association for individuals and organizations involved in the practice, teaching and study of marketing worldwide.
 
Professional and Trade Associations and Labor Unions by Industry 
Links for trade and professional organizations grouped by industry sectors. 
 
Trade Associations and Trade Shows 
Mostly US-based trade associations and trade shows
 

Company Information

Lexis Nexis Company Dossiers 
On lower left, click on Get Company Info.  Includes: Company overviews, Current News, Executives, Board of Directors, Company Hierarchy, Competitors, Financials, Mergers & Acquisitions, Analyst Reports, SEC Filings, Zacks Investment Research, Recent Legal Cases, Patents, Trademarks, etc.
 
EDGAR 
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance,a nd forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).
Tutorial

Economics

American Institute for Economic Research (AIER) 
"American Institute for Economic Research (AIER) conducts independent, scientific, economic research to educate individuals, thereby advancing their personal interests and those of the Nation."  Especially note these three tabs -- Research Reports; Business Cycle Conditions; and Everyday Price Index.
 
Bureau of Economic Analysis 
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
 
Bureau of Labor Statistics -- Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject 
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is the principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.
 
Dismal Scientist 
Covers over 75 economic releases from over 15 countries; including consumer confidence, consumer survey, personal income, retail sales, GDP for several nations, leading indicators US, agriculture, etc. 
 
 
Liber8 
Research Library of the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis; portal of economic and banking information
 
US Census Bureau -- Business & Industry 
Statistics about U.S. businesses and governments.
 
WebEc - WWW Resources in Economics 
WebEc was an effort to categorize free information in economics on the WWW.

Industry Information

Subnational economic data by industry
 
EDGAR 
EDGAR, the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system, performs automated collection, validation, indexing, acceptance,a nd forwarding of submissions by companies and others who are required by law to file forms with the US Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC).  Tutorial
 
Hoover's First Research Industry Reports 
"...vital industry analysis to evaluate opportunity and competition and set sales strategy."  Some free information.
 
IBIS World Industry Research Reports 
"IBISWorld’s Industry Research Reports are powerful business tools that provide strategic insight and analysis on over 700 U.S. industries."  Some free information.
 
Industry Insights (Great American Group) 
 Market value and industry trend information
 
"...Key statistics from the Economic Census and per capita ratios using data from Population Estimates for a user-selected industry."
 
BizStats 
BizStats is the leading free online source for small business statistics.
 
Databases, Tables & Calculators by Subject, Bureau of Labor Statistics 
Inflation & Prices, Employment, Unemployment, Pay & Benefits, Spending & TIme Use, Productivity, Workplace Injuries, International, Employment Projections, Regional Resources, Historical News Release Tables, Maps, Calculators, and Public Data API
 
Industries at a Glance, Bureau of Labor Statistics 
 "Snapshot" of national data from different BLS surveys & programs
 
 
NAICS - North American Industry Classification System 
The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
 
Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) 
Allows the user to search the 1987 version SIC manual by keyword, to access descriptive information for a specified 2,3,4-digit SIC.

Management & Marketing

Bplans.com 
Bplans.com contains the largest single online collection of free sample business plans. In addition, it has helpful tools and know-how for managing your business.
 
Business Plans 
From Entrepreneur.com, a how-to site on creating a business plan.
 
IOMA - Business Intelligence at Work 
For over 20 years, IOMA has been an independent source of exclusive business management information for experienced senior and middle management professionals.
 
KnowThis.com 
KnowThis.com is a leading information and resource website for those involved in marketing, market research, advertising, selling, promotion, and other marketing-related areas.
 
SBA Business Plan Template 
From the Small Business Administration, a template designed to help build a business plan.

News Databases & Outlets

Financial Times Online 
Financial Times website. 
 
"...a digital global news publication that provides comprehensive coverage and analysis of the most important business, economic, political and technological issues around the world."
 
New York Times Online 
Read the current daily featured stories and search the past 12 months.
 
"...a platform for investment research, with broad coverage of stocks, asset classes, ETFs and investment strategy."

Private Companies

Dynamic Small Business Search 
Primarily for search procurement information (major clients) of small businesses.
 
Indiana Secretary of State 
The Secretary of State has records on every business incorporated in the state, searchable by company name, new corporations or registered agent.
 
NFIB: National Federation of Independent Business 
The National Federation of Independent Business is the leading small business association representing small and independent businesses.  Reports industry-wide figures, legislative issues, and more.
 
SEC: Securities & Exchange Commission 
The mission of the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is to protect investors, maintain fair, orderly, and efficient markets, and facilitate capital formation. Check for S-1 filings when doing research on private companies. The S-1 will include every detail about the private company...revenue, profits, compensation, market share, etc.
 
Small Business Administration 
"The Small Business Administration (SBA) is an independent agency of the federal government to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns, to preserve free competitive enterprise and to maintain and strengthen the overall economy of our nation."  Most small businesses are private companies.

Statistics

American FactFinder 
"Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information for small geographic areas."
 
Bureau of Economic Analysis 
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
 
Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) 
The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative base of goods and services.
 
County, Zip Code & Metro Business Patterns 
Total number of establishments, employment and payroll by county, zip code, and metro.
 
Data.gov 
Data, tools, and resources on US government open data.
 
FedStats 
"Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information."
 
Labor Productivity and Costs 
Labor productivity relates output to the labor hours used in the production of that output.  This website addresses Marjor Sector Productivity and Industry Productivity.
 
 
Monthly & Annual Retail Trade 
Retail trade and E-commerce
 
National and State projections
 
Producer Price Indexes 
The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output.
 
Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) 
Manufacturing, Mining, Trade, and Selected Service Industries
 
 
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. 
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.  Provides tables on religious bodies, religious preference, church membership, and attendance. Statistics are drawn from National Council of Churches, the Religious Congregations and Membership in the United States
 
Statistics by Topic in Indiana 
Data collected by the State of Indiana, on a great variety of social, educational, and business topics.
 
Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions (Beige Book) 
Published eight times per year; each Federal Reserve Bank gather anecdotal informaiton on current economic conditions in its DIstrict.  The Beige Book is a summary of this information by District and sector.  Covers 1996 to the present.
 
 
United Nations Demographic Yearbooks 
"The Demographic Yearbook disseminates statistics on population size and composition, births, deaths, marriage and divorce on an annual basis. Demographic Yearbook special topics issues cover a wide range of additional topics including economic activity, educational attainment, household characteristics, housing, ethnicity and language, among others."
 
World Bank data 
"A comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe."

World Bank eAtlas of Global Development 
"The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world."

Websites

Business Filings Database 
All 50 states make some level of corporate and business filings available online. In a few instances only limited information (such as name availability) is retrievable. The majority of the states, however, use their Web presence to disseminate a range of public business records -- and most of them offer access at no charge.
 
TSNN: Trade Show News Network 
"...the world's leading news and online rsource for the trade show, exhibition and event industry."
 
CCR-Registered Vendors Search 
The primary registrant database for the U.S. Federal Government. CCR collects, validates, stores and disseminates data in support of agency acquisition missions.
 
Indiana Business Research Center 
"The Indiana Business Research Center is an extensive resource for data and analysis of economic and demographic information needed by business, government and nonprofit organizations in Indiana and throughout the nation."

Librarian

Janet Brewer's picture
Janet Brewer
Contact:
Nicholson Library
Anderson University
1100 E. 5th St.
Anderson, IN 46012
765-641-4272
Website / Blog Page

Business Browzine

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = AU login required
Some full text available = Full-text included
Resource contains images = Images included
Resource contains video = Video included
Resource contains audio = Audio included