Skip to main content

International Management Project: Home

Search the Catalog

   

 

   

   

 

Loading

Find Periodicals by Title

Looking for a specific Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper?
Search here to see if we carry it at AU Nicholson Library (in print or electronically).

   

   

   

Country Information

Amnesty International openURL 
Amnesty International is a worldwide movement of people who campaign for internationally recognized human rights for all.  Human rights reports for many of the world's countries are available here.
 
BBC News Country Profiles openURL Resource contains audio
Full profiles provide an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. 
They also include audio and video clips from BBC archives.
British Commonwealth Office Restricted Resource openURL 
Country-by-Country travel information
 
CIA World Factbook openURL Some full text available
Political and economic information prepared by the CIA.
Country Resources from Indiana University openURL 
Hundreds of links to global resources featuring the most current information.
 
Country Risk Restricted Resource openURL 
Sites on this web site contain narratives on countries: history, politics, culture, economy, and so on.  A little dated, but extensive research.
 
Department of State 
The mission of the Dept. of State is to "advance freedom for the benefit of the American people and the international community by helping to build and sustain a more democratic, secure, and prosperous world composed of well-governed states that respond to the needs of their people, reduce widespread poverty, and act reponsibly within the international system."  This site provides extensive country and regional information.
E-Diplomat, The Restricted Resource openURL 
Read detailed reports on diplomatic living conditions in posts around the world.  Reports are a little dated, but most information is still valid.
Every Culture 
Web site offers information on demographics, linguistics, economies, social stratification, ethnic relations, etc. for hundreds of countries.
 
Executive Planet Restricted Resource openURL 
Business Etiquette around the world.
 
Global Edge from Michigan State University openURL 
Global Edge Countries is your source for statistical data for 201 countries around the world. In addition to statistics, historical, economic, cultural info,  and political conditions are available.  
 
Human Rights - US Department of State openURL 
The protection of fundamental human rights was a foundation stone in the establishment of the United States over 200 years ago. Since then, a central goal of U.S. foreign policy has been the promotion of respect for human rights, as embodied in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights. 
 
International Religious Freedom Some full text available

From the U.S. State Department, "The International Religious Freedom report is submitted to Congress annually by the Department of State in compliance with Section 102(b) of the International Religious Freedom Act (IRFA) of 1998. This report supplements the most recent Human Rights Reports by providing additional detailed information with respect to matters involving international religious freedom. It includes individual country chapters on the status of religious freedom worldwide."

Kwintessential - International Etiquette Guide 
Topics include language, useful phrases, the society, culture, business and social etiquettes.
Library of Congress Country Studies openURL 
On-line version of the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program, with emphasis on lesser known regions of the world. Social, economic, and political commentary.
NationMaster Some full text available
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library 
Links to Human Rights information from a wide variety of sources.

Foreign Phrases

BBC Foreign Languages Restricted Resource openURL 
Audio and Video Clips help you learn a foreign language.
 
Fodor's Language for Travelers openURL 
Learn key phrases in several languages.

Instruction & Reference Librarian

James Bell's picture
James Bell
Contact:
765.641.4281

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = AU login required
Some full text available = Full-text included
Resource contains images = Images included
Resource contains video = Video included
Resource contains audio = Audio included