Skip to main content

Government Resources: Home

Search the Catalog

   

 

   

   

 

Loading

Find Periodicals by Title

   

   

   

Tips

"A popular government without popular information or the means of acquiring it, is but a prologue to a farce, or a tragedy, or perhaps both."

James Madison, Fourth President of the United States

Federal Digital System Search

Federal Depository Library Program

Basic Collection 
These titles are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of the Federal Government. This list is subject to change.

Accounting/Auditing

GASB: Governmental Accounting Standards Board 
The mission of the GASB is to establish and improve standards of state and local governmental accounting and financial reporting that will result in useful information for users of financial reports, and guide educate the public, including issuers, auditors, and users of those financial reports.
 
Government Accountability Office (GAO) 
"The U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO) is known as "the investigative arm of Congress" and "the congressional watchdog." GAO supports the Congress in meeting its constitutional responsibilities and helps improve the performance and accountability of the federal government for the benefit of the American people."

Agencies & Departments

Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) 
"ATF is a unique law enforcement agency in the United States Department of Justice that protects our communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products."
 
 
 
Congressional Budget Office 
"CBO's mandate is to provide the Congress with: 1) objective, nonpartisan, and timely analyses to aid in economic and budgetary decisions on the wide array of programs covered by the federal budege, and 2) the information and estimates required for the Congressional budget process."
 
 
Department of Commerce 
"The U.S. Department of Commerce promotes job creation, economic growth, sustainable development and improved standards of living for all Americans by working in partnership with businesses, universities, communities and our nation’s workers."
 
Department of Defense (DOD) 
"The mission of the Department of Defense is to provide the military forces needed to deter war and to protect the security of our country."
 
Department of Education 
"ED's mission is to promote student achievement and preparation for global competitiveness by fostering educational excellence and ensuring equal access."
 
Department of Energy (DOE) 
"The mission of the Department of Energy is to ensure America's security and prosperity by addressing its energy, environmental, and nuclear challenges through transformative science and technology solutions."
 
Department of Health and Human Services 
"The Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services, especially for those who are least able to help themselves."
 
Department of Homeland Security 
" The mission of the Department of Homeland Security is to secure the nation from the many threats we face.  Their duties are wide-ranging, including aviation and border security, emergency response, cybersecurity analysis and chemical facility inspector."
 
Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) 
The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) is the principal Federal agency responsible for programs concerned with the Nation's housing needs, fair housing opportunities, and improvement and development of the Nation's communities.
 
Department of Justice (DOJ) 
The mission of DOJ is "to enforce the law and defend the interests of the United States according to the law; to ensure public safety against threats foreign and domestic; to provide federal leadership in preventing and controlling crime; to seek just punishment for those guilty of unlawful behavior; and to ensure fair and impartial administration of justice for all Americans."
 
Department of Labor (DOL) 
The mission of the DOL is "to foster, promote, and develop the welfare of the wage earners, job seekers, and retirees of the United States; improve working conditions; advance opportunities for profitable employment; and assure work-related benefits and rights."
 
Department of State 
The mission of the Dept. of State is to "advance freedom for the benefit of the American people and the international community by helping to build and sustain a more democratic, secure, and prosperous world composed of well-governed states that respond to the needs of their people, reduce widespread poverty, and act reponsibly within the international system."  This site provides extensive country and regional information.
 
Department of the Interior (DOI) 
"The DOI protects America's natural resources and heritage, honors our cultures and tribal communities, and supplies the energy to power our future."
 
Department of the Treasury 
The mission of the Dept. of the Treasury is to "maintain a strong economy and create economic and job opportunities by rpomoting the conditions that enable economic growth and stability at home and abroad, strengthen national security by combating threats and protecting the integrity of the financial system, and manage the U.S. Government's finances and resources effectively."
 
Department of Transportation (DOT) 
The mission of the DOT is to "serve the United States by ensuring a fast, safe, efficient, accessible and convenient transportation system that meets our vital national interests and enhances the quality of life of the American people, today and into the future."
 
Department of Veteran Affairs (VA) 
The vision of the VA is "to provide veterans the world-class benefits and services they have earned - and to do so by adhering to the highest standards of compassion, commitment, excellence, professionalism, integrity, accountability, and stewardship."

Business Resources

Bureau of Economic Analysis 
The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic
accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.
 
Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance (CFDA) 
Used to locate grants and assistance programs available from the government.  Each entry describes the type of program, eligibility requirements, and contact information.
 
Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) 
The Consumer Price Indexes (CPI) program produces monthly data on changes in the prices paid by urban consumers for a representative baske of goods and services.
 
Labor Productivity and Costs 
Labor productivity relates output to the labor hours used in the production of that output.  This website addresses Marjor Sector Productivity and Industry Productivity.
 
 
Monthly & Annual Retail Trade 
Retail trade and E-commerce
 
Occupational Outlook Handbook 
The profiles featured here cover hundreds of occupations and describe What They Do, Work Environment, How to Become One, Pay, and more. Each profile also includes BLS employment projections for the 2010–20 decade.
 
Producer Price Indexes 
The Producer Price Index (PPI) program measures the average change over time in the selling prices received by domestic producers for their output.
 
Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) 
Manufacturing, Mining, Trade, and Selected Service Industries
 
 
SBA.gov 
SBA offers a variety of programs and support services to help navigate the issues faced by small businesses.
 
Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions (Beige Book) 
Published eight times per year; each Federal Reserve Bank gather anecdotal informaiton on current economic conditions in its DIstrict.  The Beige Book is a summary of this information by District and sector.  Covers 1996 to the present.
 
U.S. International Trade Data 
U.S. International Trade in Goods and Services Reports and other foreign trade data.
 

Census

American FactFinder 
"Your source for population, housing, economic, and geographic information for small geographic areas."
 
Census 2000 EEO Data Tool 
"Using this web-baased took, you can select tabulations for various levels of geography based on residence or workplace.  The data estimates available present information for various occupation groupings by race and ethnicity and sex."
 
County Business Patterns 
"County Business Patterns provides data on the total number of establishments, mid-March employment, first quarter and annual payroll, and number of establishment by nine employment-size classes by detailed industry."
 
 
Foreign Trade 
"Foreign Trade is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States."
 
Gazetteer: 2010, 2000, and 1990 
A gazetteer is a geographical dictionary or directory.  The U.S. gazetteer files includes places, counties, county subdivisions, census tracts, and ZIP Code Tabulation Areas.
 
State & County QuickFacts 
"State and County QuickFacts provides frequently requested Census Bureau information at the national, state, county, and city level."
 
U.S. Census Bureau
Website gives detailed demographic information on thousands of geographical area in the United States.  Economic data available, too.  Excellent source of statistics on poverty, educational attainment, race, etc.
 
USA Counties 
"USA Counties features over 6,000 data items for the United States, States and counties from a variety of sources."

Executive Branch

Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) 
FRUS series serves as the US official record of diplomacy.  The University of Wisconsin has a partial online collection and plans to digitize the complete collection (as of Nov 2011, they have 1861-1958/1960).
 
Office of Management and Budget (OMB) 
"The core mission of OMB is to serve the President of the United States in implementing his vision across the Executive Branch.  It is the implementation and enforcement arm of Presidential policy government-wide"
 
Office of the Director of National Security 
"The mission of the ODNI is to forge an Intelligence Community that delivers the most insightful intelligence possible." 
 
Public Papers of the Presidents of The United States 
Contains material that was compiled and published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration.  It includes volumes covering the administrations of Presidents Hoover, Roosevelt, Truman, Eisenhower, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon, Ford, Carter, Reagan, Bush, and Clinton.  As subsequent volumes are published, they will be added online.
 

Indiana Government Resources

Court Management & Statistics in Indiana 
The collection of statistical information about the operation of Indiana's courts and their offices is a central responsibility of the Division of State Court Administration. The Division collects and publishes information on the caseload and fiscal activities of all courts and probation offices throughout the state. This data provides the empirical basis for policy decisions by both the Indiana Supreme Court and the Indiana General Assembly and provides important management information for individual courts.
 
Hoosiers by the Numbers 
"Hoosiers by the Numbers...provides data and tools to support the Indiana Department of Workforce Development twin goals of: aggressively empowering Indiana workers to become a highly-skilled, competitive workforce, and providing premier customer service to all internal and external customers."
 
IN.gov 
Main web site for Indiana government
 
Indiana Accountability System for Academic Progress (ASAP) 
"Designed to assist school communities in their efforts to improve education -- Academic Standards, Accountability, Accreditation, Best Practice, Professional Development, School Data, School Improvement Plan, and State Profile."
 
 
Indiana Courts 
Courts & Clerks Offices; Decisions & Case Records; Agencies & Programs; Education & Court History; etc.
 
 
Indiana General Assembly Web Site 
The General Assembly is responsible for enacting the laws by which the state of Indiana is governed.
 
Indiana Laws & Administrative Code 
Web site includes -- Indiana Constitution; Indiana Code; Acts (2000-2009); Non-Code Acts; Indiana Administrative Code; Indiana Register; Administrative Rules Drafting Manual; and Recodification Tables and Session Law Table
 
Indiana Transparency Portal 
"The Indiana Transparency Portal (ITP) is designed to give the Indiana taxpayer an inside look into Indiana State Government spending and operations."
 
 
School Safety Data for Indiana 
The Indiana School Safety Specialist Academy will provide ongoing, certified training and information on national and state best practices, as well as exemplary resources for school safety and security.
 
Statistics by Topic in Indiana 
Data collected by the State of Indiana, on a great variety of social, educational, and business topics.
 

International

Directgov (UK government resource) 
Directgov is the UK government's digital service...it delivers information and practical advice about public services.
 
Eurostat: Your Key to European Statistics 
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union and the data provided is meant to enable comparisons between coutnries and regions.
 
GeoHive 
GeoHive's main component is population statistics, but it also includes geopolitical data and some economical statistics and an up-to-date list of all known national statistical agencies.
 
International Data Base 
"The International Data Base (IDB) offers a variety of demographic indicators for countries and areas of the world with a populaton of 5,000 or more."
 
International Trade Statistics 
Trade data from the World Trade Organization & the UN COnference on Trade and Development.
 
NationMaster
NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD.
 
UN Data: A World of Information 
A collection of statistical information from UN member states; contains over 60 million data points covering a wide range of themes such as agriculture, crime, education, employment, energy, etc.

Judiciary

Federal Judicial Center 
"The Federal Judicial Center is the research and education agency of the federal judicial system."
 
Sentencing Commission 
"The principal purposes of the U.S. Sentencing Commission are:  (1) to establish sentencing policies and practices for the federal courts, including guidelines to be consulted regarding the appropriate form and severity of punishment for offenders convicted of federal crimes; (2) to advise and assist Congress and the executive branch in the development of effective and efficient crime policy; and (3) to collect, analyze, research, and distribute a broad array of information on federal crime and sentencing issues,
serving as an information resource for Congress, the executive branch, the courts, criminal justice
practitioners, the academic community, and the public."
 
 
 

Laws & Regulations

Legislative Branch

American State Papers, 1789-1838 
The American State Papers, comprising a total of 38 physical vols., contains he legislative and executive documents of Congress during the periods 1789-1838.  The collection includes documents that cover the critical historical gap from 1789 to the printing of the first vol. of the U.S. Serial Set in 1817.
 
Annals of Congress 
The Annals of Congress, formally known as The Debates and Proceedings of the Congress of the United States, cover the 1st Congress through the first session of the 18th Congress, from 1789 to 1824.
 
 
Congressional Globe 
The Globe, as it is usually called, contains the congressional debates of the 23rd through 42nd Congresses (1833-73).  The Globe is the third of the four series of publications containing the debates of Congress.  It was preceded by the Annals of Congress and the Register of Debates and succeeded by the Congressional Record.
 
Congressional Record 
Proceeding and debates of the U.S. Congress.  The Congressional Record began publication in 1873.  Recent versions of the Record may be found in THOMAS, the legislative information site at the Library of Congress
 
Federal Register 
"...the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents."
 
House Journal 
From its inaugural session, the United States House of Representatives has kept a journal of its proceedings...the printed version...is presented here in electronic form.
 
 
Journals of the Continental Congress 
The First Continental Congress met from September 5 to October 26, 1774.  The Second Continental Congress ran from May 10, 1775, to March 2, 1789.  The Journals of the Continental Congress are records of the daily proceedings of the Congress as kept by the office of its secretary, Charles Thomson.
 
Register of Debates 
The Register of Debates is a record of the congressional debates of the 18th Congress, 2nd Session through the 25th Congress, 1st Session (1824-37).  It is the second of the four series of publications containing the debates of Congress.  It was preceded by the Annals of Congress and succeeded by the Congressional Globe.
 
regulations.gov 
Your online source for US government regulations from nearly 300 Federal agencies.Search for proposed rules, notices, and final rules, make comments, and submit documents.
 
 
Senate Executive Journal 
From its inaugural session, the senate has maintained a separate record of its executive proceedings that relate to its functions of confirming presidential nominees and consenting to the making of treaties.
 
Senate Journal 
From its inaugural session, the United States Senate has kept a journal of its proceedings...the printed version...is presented here in electronic form.
 
Treaties in Force 
Treaties in Force is prepared by the Dept. of State for the purpose of providing information on treaties and other international agreements to which the US has become a party and which are carried on the records of the Dept. of State as being in force.
 
U.S. Serial Set: Selected Documents and Reports 
The Serial Set contains the House and Senate Documents and the House and Senate Reports. This site contains portions of the Serial Set as the entire set has not been digitized.

Patents & Trademarks

Intellectual Propert Law and Policy 
"The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office is committed to promoting awareness of and providing leadership in the area of Intellectural Property Law and Policy."
 
Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) 
"The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is the Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks."

Scientific and Technical Information

AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) 
Public sources for world-wide access to agricultural information including all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming, agricultural economics, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
 
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS) 
A collection of over one million citations and nearly 100,000 full-text items covering research and technical reports, conference papers, photographs, videos, patents, and journal articles.
 
National Climatic Data Center 
NCDC is the world's largest active archive of weather data.  They produce numerous climate publications and responds to data requests from all over the world.
 
PMC (PubMed Central)
PMC is a free, full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
 
Science Accelerator 
Science Accelerator is a gateway to science, including R&D results, project descriptions, accomplishments, and more, via resources from the Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI), US Dept. of Energy.
 
science.gov 
Science.gov searches over 50 databases and over 2100 selected websites from 14 federal agencies, offering authoritative US government science information including research and development results.

Search Portals

FDsys: Federal Digital System 
FDsys provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.

Statistics

Bureau of Labor Statistics 
"The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.  Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making."
 
Bureau of Transportation Statistics - Research and Innovative Techology Administration (RITA) 
"BTS administers data collection, analysis, and reporting and to ensure the most cost-effective use of transportation-monitoring resources."
 
CDC Data and Statistics Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Statistics
 
Federal Reserve: Economic Research & Data 
Statistical Releases and historical data; research data; surveys and reports; Federal Reserve Bulletin; Working Papers
 
"Provides access to the full range of official statistical information produced by the Federal Government without having to know in advance which Federal agency produces which particular statistic. With convenient searching and linking capablilties to more than 100 agencies that provide data and trend information on such topics as economic and population trends, crime, education, health care, aviation safety, energy use, farm production and more, FedStats is your one location for access to the full breadth of Federal statistical information."
 
Foreign Trade
"Foreign Trade is the official source for U.S. export and import statistics and responsible for issuing regulations governing the reporting of all export shipments from the United States."
 
National Agricultural Statistics Service 
Crops and Plants; Demographics; Economics and Prices; Environmental; Livestock and Animals; Charts and Maps; Research and Science
 
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)  The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.
 
National Center for Health Statistics 
The National Center for Health Statistics website is a compilation of statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of people.  Data is collected from birth and death records, medical records, interview surveys, and through direct physical exams and laboratory testing.
 
Statistical Abstract of the U.S.
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.  Provides tables on religious bodies, religious preference, church membership, and attendance. Statistics are drawn from National Council of Churches, the Religious Congregations and Membership in the United States

Web Sites

Congressional Member Guide 
Search and find members of the US Congress.
 
Congressional Member Guide App 
Congressional Directory optimized for Mobile Devices. 
 
Government Information (GIO)  Through Government Information Online (GIO) you can ask government information librarians who are experts at finding information from government agencies of all levels (local, state, regional, national international) on almost any subject from aardvarks to zygomycosis

Librarian

Janet Brewer
Contact:
Nicholson Library
Anderson University
1100 E. 5th St.
Anderson, IN 46012
765-641-4272
Website / Blog Page

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = AU login required
Some full text available = Full-text included
Resource contains images = Images included
Resource contains video = Video included
Resource contains audio = Audio included