Skip to main content

D.Min.-Doctor of Ministry: Home

Search the Catalog

   

 

   

   

 

Loading

Find Periodicals by Title

Looking for a specific Journal, Magazine, or Newspaper?
Search here to see if we carry it at AU Nicholson Library (in print or electronically).

   

   

   

Other Helpful Subject Guides

Using the Nicholson Library at a Distance

1. Start your online research on the Library’s website

  Find Books and eBooks    
    Nicholson Library’s catalog 
    Cambridge Collections Online 
    Oxford Reference Library
 
  Find Articles
    Access periodical databases,
    including ATLA’s Religion Database,
    Academic Search Premier,
    PsycInfo


2. Order a book or article through Interlibary loan.  You may login and fill out a request form.  Talk with a Jill Branscum, 765-641-4287, jebranscum@anderson.edu. Or click the "Request Item" button when you are searching. Please keep your U.S. mail address updated, in the ILL system, if you move while you're working on your D.Min.  If you need an article or book: "You need it, we'll get it!" 
 

3. Contact the Anderson University and Church of God Archives


4. We can HELP…just Ask a Librarian:

  Ask a reference question by -

    emailemail, chatchat, or phonetelephone.

    Find assistance for technical problems  

    Help with Remote access to databases, eArticles and eBooks

5. When you are in town, visit the Nicholson Library in person. We are located on the corner of Anderson University Blvd and College Ave. (For GPS, 1033 University Blvd. 46012)

Citation and Literature Review Help

Turabian Quick Guide 
- Website based on Kate L. Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations: REF LB2369 .T8 2007
eTurbian 
- Citation generator for Turabian style, 8th edition.
SOT Guide to Turabian
Learn How to Write a Review of Literature 
- from the University of Wisconsin
Literature Review 
- from St. Mary's University, Halifax, Nova Scotia
Write a Literature Review 
- from University of California: Santa Cruz
SOT D.Min. Student Handbook

Finding D.Min. dissertations

Find projects similar to your topic, and read what other D.MIn. students have written.  The bibliographies may be helpful for your literature search.

Nicholson Library Catalog
The library catalog will find Anderson print D.Min. theses and some online D.Min. projects from Asbury.
  To partially limit to D.Min. projects add "D.Min" to your search, for example:
   "D.Min" Groups
  Hint: adding * to the end of a word will fill in different endings, for example:
  "D.MIn" psych*
  Use only the database WorldCat, for only "books."  

Proquest Dissertations & Thesis Some full text available
This database includes full-text of some AU D.Min. projects, and some projects from a few other schools, both citations and full-text.
  Hint:To limit to the D.Min. degree add  dg(D.Min.) to your search, for example:  groups and dg(D.Min.)

Duke Divinity School Dissertations 
To narrow to D.Min. dissertations try adding 
the words Doctor Ministry to your search, for example
        Spiritual Formation Doctor Ministry

Unfortunately, I could not find a way to search Duke repository by degree for only for D.Min. theses/projects.

TREN - Theological Research Exchange Network Some full text available$
   D.Min. projects/disserations from many schools in North America.  Available for pruchase for $5 to $15.  Some previews are available for free.

Research in Ministry
Research In Ministry (RIM) indexes (citations only) D.Min. and D.Miss. projects from many accredited schools in the U.S. and Canada.  Indexing began in 1981; some schools stopped contributing in the 2000s. Author, title, project advisor, institution, and subject access are provided. In addition some records have abstracts.

Projects that are not full-text may be requested on Inter-library Loan; however, D.Min. projects often will not be sent through ILL, when the owning library is concerned about losing their only copy.
 

E-books

Asbury DMin and Ph.D. Dissertations Some full text available
Full-text versions of dissertations, theses, and projects from Asbury Theological Seminary.  Hint: Enter search terms in box in upper left.
Duke Divinity School Dissertations 
To narrow to D.Min. dissertations try adding 
the words Doctor Ministry to your search, for example
        Spiritual Formation Doctor Ministry

Unfortunately, I could not find a way to search by degree for only for D.Min. theses/projects.
eBook Religion Collection (EBSCO platform) Restricted Resource Some full text available
This collection features more than 4,100 eBook titles from over 150 religious publishers, covering a broad range of religious subjects including philosophy, ethics, history of religions, Christianity, Judaism, Islam, Buddhism, religious texts, and more.   These eBooks can be read online or downloaded.  They can be searched through the library catalog too, under the books tab, at  library.anderson.edu
Cambridge Collections Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Complete Cambridge Companions provides the full-text of Cambridge University Press Companions in literature, classics, philosophy, religion, music, and culture.
ebrary Academic Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a collection of e-books in all academic subject areas. Download the e-books onto multiple devices; try the ebrary app for the Android or iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch.
ebrary Academic Complete Restricted Resource Some full text available
This is a collection of e-books in all academic subject areas. Download the e-books onto multiple devices; try the ebrary app for the Android or iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch.
Oxford Reference Library Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford Reference Online offers dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
Theological Commons (at Princeton Theological Seminary), The Some full text available
Digital library of more than 75,000 out-of-copyright titles in religion and theology.  Most of the books were published before 1923.
TREN - Theological Research Exchange Network Some full text available
D.Min. projects/disserations from many schools in North America.  Available for prechase for 5 to 15 dollars.  Some previews available for free.  Find projects similar to yours, and read what other pastors have written.

Free Internet Databases

Calvin College Institute of Christian Worship Resource Library 
This website offers a wide range of practical resources and scholarly works for congregational leaders, pastors, teachers of worships, students, artists, and all interested in worship. These resources serve as tools for preparing, planning for, and leading worship as well as for studying the history, theology, and practice of worship worldwide. The website provides free resources primarily in the form of articles, audio files, slideshow and video presentations. 
Research in Ministry 

RIM® Online indexes citationa of DMin and DMiss projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Indexing began in 1981. Author, title, project advisor, institution, and subject access are provided. In addition, an abstract for each project is included when one has been provided by the author.

Statistics

Association of Religion Data Archives Resource contains images Some full text available
The ARDA is an essential access point to quantitative data sets on religion. The site aggregates data from a wide variety of sources, covering all subjects, from congregational statistics to religious profiles for countries worldwide. Users can view reports, maps, and charts, or download raw data files for analysis with statistical software. While some international data sets are available, the greatest strength of the ARDA is its collections of data on religion in the United States. "The ARDA allows you to interactively explore the highest quality data on American and international religion using online features for generating national profiles, GIS maps, church membership overviews, denominational heritage trees, tables, charts, and other reports. Over 450 surveys and other data collections are available for online preview and virtually all can be downloaded free of charge."
Hartford Institute for Religious Research openURL 
 1)  summarizes current religion research by Hartford Institute for Religion Research faculty as well as the research done by other sociologists of religion.

2)  educates pastors, denominational leaders, religion reporters and the general public in a better understanding of research on religion in order to help create stronger communities of faith and a more informed society.

3) assists the site's users in understanding the use of statistics and poll data, designing church web sites, on searching the web for information, and the implications of the Internet on religious life.

National Congregations Study (NCS) 
The NCS surveys a representative sample of America's churches, synagogues, mosques and other local places of worship. It gathers information about a wide range of characteristics and activities of congregations.
World Bank data 
"A comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe."
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.  Provides tables on religious bodies, religious preference, church membership, and attendance. Statistics are drawn from National Council of Churches, the Religious Congregations and Membership in the United States
Statistics by Topic in Indiana 
Data collected by the State of Indiana, on a great variety of social, educational, and business topics.
World Bank eAtlas of Global Development 
"The World Bank eAtlas of Global Development maps and graphs more than 175 thematically organized indicators for over 200 countries, letting you visualize and compare progress on the most important development challenges facing our world."

Web Sites

Center for Congregations 
The Center for Congregations strengthens Indiana congregations by helping them find and use the best resources to address their challenges and opportunities.  The Center is a gift to the congregations of Indiana from Lilly Endowment Inc., so most of our services are offered free of charge.  It offeres workshops, revitalization, consulting, and grants.
ChurchEpedia 
 From the National Leadership Roundtable on Church Management, it offers "ideas for best practices in Church management, finance and human resources."
Faith & Leadership: a learning resource for Christian leaders 
Faith & Leadership is the online magazine of leadership education from Duke Divinity School
Insights into Religion 
Shares results and insights from studies conducted by the Religion Division of the Lilly Endowment.  This site provides "the clergy, lay leaders and the public with: 
  - access to research on religion;
  - reflections on faith and ministry;
  - observations on congregational life;
  - commentary on spiritual practices;
  - perspectives on religious vocations;
  - information on theological education; and
  - strategies for leadership development."
Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library Some full text available
The Wesleyan-Holiness Digital Library is a free, multidisciplinary, open access, digital resource of books, literature, multimedia material,  initiated by the Church of the Nazarene in response to the global need for access to resources for education, lifelong learning, and specifically ministerial preparation.
Adherents.com Some full text available
References to published membership and congregation statistics for over 4,200 religions, churches, denominations, etc.

Assoc. Professor, Electronic Resources Librarian

Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = AU login required
Some full text available = Full-text included
Resource contains images = Images included
Resource contains video = Video included
Resource contains audio = Audio included